Traditional French Canadian Tourtiere Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Liquid chicken seasoning is not chicken stock. It's like liquid bouillon (concentrated chicken broth). It should be with the regular bouillon in your grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nobody'sGirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
This is a great, great recipe. The flavor is just amazing. My only advice is DON'T make the full recipe! I did and it took me days. Yes, I now have 7 tourtiere's in my freezer for the winter but I almost lost my mind too! I now cook a manageable 3 at a time. (24 servings.) The smells and flavors of this dish make it the perfect fall or winter meal. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEPHINER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
This was very much like my mother used to make-seasoning is fantstic. I cut the recipe 'way down and used some ground turkey to lower the fat content- still great! One question though- what is liquid chicken seasoning? -I asked Allrecipes- and they thought it was chicken stock - is that right???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tarpon Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
The liquid chicken seasoning I use is Knorr's Bovril which is a bouillon concentrate. Available in Canada although I don't know about the USofA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Being of French Canadian descent pork pies were a traditional meal on Christmas Eve. My Meme is long gone now and her recipe. This is dead on to what I remember in my childhood. the only thing I added was mashed potatoes to bind the filing. Other than that its a keeper. Serve with pickled beets and enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
This is the authentic recipe for tortiere a la Quebecois. It had been several years since I had enjoyed this traditional Christmas Eve fare prepared by my mother-in-law in Laval Quebec, and it tasted just as I remembered it. French Canadians usually add a dollup of ketchup on the side when served, at least, my in-laws did. Somehow the spices come alive with the addition. This is as French Canadian as it gets. For a moister pie, use twice as much ground pork as ground beef in your recipe, and try a dab of ketchup on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MILKLISSA79
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
This is awesome. My first time making it and it tasted just like what I'm used to. The only changes I made were to scale the recipe to 2 pies, add 2 potatoes, boiled then mashed, and I made my own concentrated chicken liquid. I will be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
Hi Kathleen. This recipe probably comes the closest to the recipe that my grandmother told me about almost thirty years ago. Yours is the only one to have alspice in it that I've seen on the internet. My earliest and fondest memories was my Ma Mere making meat pies on Saturday mornings at 5 o'clock in preparation for the annual get together of the "family" on Saturday night. Meat pie was a weekend experience to sober up the men prior to driving home. Had it on Christmas, but never associated the pie with it. The "meat" that was left over went into plastic containers to be eaten on top of toasted bread with bananas in the morning. I'll try your Tourtiere to see how close it comes to my Grandmother's and hope it does! I've missed a good piece of meat pie for a very long time! Merci!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Best tourtiere I've had since the ones my great aunt used to make in Montreal. Thank-you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Bovril was made in Canada. We heard the USDA restricted all imports of products containing any beef ingredients from Canada to the US due to the Mad Cow scare. As this item contained some beef ingredient, it is no longer available in the US.Best Substitute is "Better than Bouillon" but eliminate the salt called for in recipe or it will be too salty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Traditional Indiana Breaded Tenderloin

Watch how to make this sandwich that is a favorite of Indiana residents.

French Egg and Bacon Sandwich

See how to make a bacon and egg sandwich with a French toast twist.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States