Traditional Cranberry Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
This is very good, I like the touch of orange. The only thing I will change is to bump up the cinnimon by 1/2 teaspoon, which is personal preference. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
My family loved this recipe and ate it up in no time, but I gave it four stars because I found it too tart for my taste. It definitely needed that scoop of vanilla ice cream on top to balance out the sweet and sour flavors. In the future I might try using less cranberries, and more apples and sugar. However, I still think it's a great recipe, especially if you're a fan of cranberries:) (note: the recipe says a 9x12 pan feeds only 6 people! It really serves about 12)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Austin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Won't be making this again, so glad I only made half a recipe. Made like recipe said, but did use more cinnamon as others suggested. I have better cranberry crisp recipe, but thought since this had apple it would be a nice change. WRONG. If we'd liked the filling better I would've made my usual topping because this didn't have any flavor & seemed very buttery. I like the ones with flour in with the oatmeal & butter because it gets crispier. Sorry, but not worth keeping for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Just made this for Thanksgiving and it was a hit. I think next time I'd use less nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Was more of a cranberry/apple sauce than a dessert cran/apple crisp. Lack something to bind it together (that's why it was a sauce & I followed the directions to a T). I would not have chopped the apple, but slice them. I like flour added to my topping for more of a crispy chunky texture. I would not make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bluej51

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
This was less sweet than I expected but we enjoyed it with ice cream. I don't cook with cranberries often and usually the sugar in the recipe hides more of the tartness. Hard to know that up front. The filling was runny but served in a bowl with some vanilla ice cream still looked festive. I used an empire apple, didn't peel it, and added a little flour to the topping. I only made one serving (but used a whole, small apple) and ended up with a 4x7 dish that served 4 with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I cut this recipe in half and baked in a 9x7" Pyrex dish. The only thing I changed was to add about 1 T of flour to the topping. I think it turned out perfectly. People complaining about tartness shouldn't be making cranberry anything. This definitely isn't a sweet crisp, but I prefer it that way. I used Cameo apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States