Traditional Chili with Ground Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Amazing... Even the kids who hate beans loved it and had second helping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pugsrock
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
This recipe is a delicious classic chili recipe. Instead of turkey I used ground beef which my husband wanted. I also added about half of a Scotch bonnet pepper in addition to my home,grown jalepeno. Also has fresh thyme too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Very good! I added 1/2 Tbsp of cumin instead of 2 Tbsp. I also substituted black beans for red beans and one monstrous red pepper for the red/green peppers. I recommend adding a sliced chorizo for some kick! Would definitely make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katya121

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I didn't use the bell peppers, but it turned out great. My family loved it and asked to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Traditional Chili with Ground Turkey Haiku: "Can't believe how good, this chili turned out to be. Easy and delish!" I halved everything except the 1 lb. turkey due to only having 1 can of red beans (meh, we don't like pintos) and an 8 oz. can of tomato sauce. The only ingredient that had me nervous was the thyme, but I was faithful to the ingredients, dumped it all in the crockpot while I was at work, and then we served it with cheese and Frito Scoops. Umm wow, deceptively sneaky good chili that my 6-year old gave a very exuberant "5 Stars!" to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
This was great! Subbed oregano for thyme, just not a big fan, but otherwise followed the recipe as written. Right after cooking I thought it had a tad too much cumin and thought about cutting it a bit next time. However, after eating the leftovers for lunch today, it's absolutely perfect! I would suggest making this the day before you plan to eat it just to let the flavors blend. Will definitely make again. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamers9050
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Great flavor. I added a sprinkle of crushed red pepper for a little more zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
A great, traditional chili recipe, just what I was looking for! I do not write many reviews, but I had to for this one. I didn't follow the recipe to a T, instead I subbed dried oregano (I didn't measure how much I used)for the thyme. I also used Indian chili powder, which is very spicy, so I reduced chili powder to ~3/4 Tbsp. I also reduced cumin to 1 Tbsp, both because my husband doesn't like overpowering cumin and because I ran out :) I cooked and browned the turkey separately from the onions and peppers. I added my turkey to the onion mix after the initial 8 min. and then threw in my spices. Also, in place of the fresh/pickled jalapeños, I used Ranchero pinto beans with jalapeños. My husband thought it was great. Also, on a side note, I made Alex Guarnaschelli's easy cast iron skillet cornbread to go with it; I highly recommend this cornbread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I made this chili on a hot sunny day.. I thought the chili tasted delicious!! I omitted the green and red pepers and sugar.. It still was tasty!!!I will make this again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nichole
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I didn't have the peppers so I used the rooster hot sauce n put a can of hominy in addition to the beans mmmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States