Traditional Chili with Ground Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Very good! I added 1/2 Tbsp of cumin instead of 2 Tbsp. I also substituted black beans for red beans and one monstrous red pepper for the red/green peppers. I recommend adding a sliced chorizo for some kick! Would definitely make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I didn't use the bell peppers, but it turned out great. My family loved it and asked to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Traditional Chili with Ground Turkey Haiku: "Can't believe how good, this chili turned out to be. Easy and delish!" I halved everything except the 1 lb. turkey due to only having 1 can of red beans (meh, we don't like pintos) and an 8 oz. can of tomato sauce. The only ingredient that had me nervous was the thyme, but I was faithful to the ingredients, dumped it all in the crockpot while I was at work, and then we served it with cheese and Frito Scoops. Umm wow, deceptively sneaky good chili that my 6-year old gave a very exuberant "5 Stars!" to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
This was great! Subbed oregano for thyme, just not a big fan, but otherwise followed the recipe as written. Right after cooking I thought it had a tad too much cumin and thought about cutting it a bit next time. However, after eating the leftovers for lunch today, it's absolutely perfect! I would suggest making this the day before you plan to eat it just to let the flavors blend. Will definitely make again. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamers9050
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Great flavor. I added a sprinkle of crushed red pepper for a little more zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
A great, traditional chili recipe, just what I was looking for! I do not write many reviews, but I had to for this one. I didn't follow the recipe to a T, instead I subbed dried oregano (I didn't measure how much I used)for the thyme. I also used Indian chili powder, which is very spicy, so I reduced chili powder to ~3/4 Tbsp. I also reduced cumin to 1 Tbsp, both because my husband doesn't like overpowering cumin and because I ran out :) I cooked and browned the turkey separately from the onions and peppers. I added my turkey to the onion mix after the initial 8 min. and then threw in my spices. Also, in place of the fresh/pickled jalapeños, I used Ranchero pinto beans with jalapeños. My husband thought it was great. Also, on a side note, I made Alex Guarnaschelli's easy cast iron skillet cornbread to go with it; I highly recommend this cornbread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I made this chili on a hot sunny day.. I thought the chili tasted delicious!! I omitted the green and red pepers and sugar.. It still was tasty!!!I will make this again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nichole
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I didn't have the peppers so I used the rooster hot sauce n put a can of hominy in addition to the beans mmmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
The hubby said this was the best recipe we have tried. It was great and awesome to warm up the left overs. I personally think that I will be replacing the beef broth with just more tomatoes. We don’t eat any red meats so it set off a little flavor I wasn’t expecting. But over all was great and will be making again with just a few tweaks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I had a package of ground turkey I needed to use before it went bad, so I searched for recipes for ground turkey and this popped up. I was happy to see that I had nearly all of the ingrediants already. What I didn't have was cumin, bell peppers or tomato paste. I also didn't have diced canned tomatoes. Instead, I used crushed and added extra to make up for the lack of paste. This was an easy dish to make. The only thing I would question/suggest is the cook time. I have no idea why this says 2 hours. Once everything was in the pot, 40-45 was enough for the beans to tenderize. I say everything in total took a little over an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

Terrific Turkey Chili

Combining fresh and canned ingredients make creating this chili a snap.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States