Traditional Chilaquiles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Great flavor. I omitted the mint and ramped up the heat a bit by leaving the seeds in the jalapeno. Could not locate any Poblano peppers the day I went shopping so I used Anaheim peppers (roasted them first & peeled skins) I served hot flour tortillas filled with the shredded chicken and used the this as a sauce, then topped with the cheeses. Rolled up and ate like a burrito. The next day, I used leftovers for breakfast and added scrambled egg. Yummy both ways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharoTchichi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
They aren't traditional and i can say this since i am mexican we don't add half these things, but they're still good just not for my taste since i enjoy my mothers mexican food
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
This was fantastic, after a little adjusting with spices like thyme and basil it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
My whole family loved this recipe and it was a great way to use our tomatillos. We found it to be a little dry, though, but it was fine after we added some salsa at the table. If I make it again, I'll probably double the tomatillo sauce. I used pepper jack cheese but substituted cheddar cheese for the monterey jack, and I wouldn't do that again. The cheddar got pretty tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Never had these before and I now will be having this recipe a ton EXCELLENT!!!!!!! replaces Taco night!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rickelkhunter35

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
How did I forget to rate this? We loved this dinner. Amazingly I was able to buy fresh tomatillos in NY in January! This will be repeated many more times. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I've made this one several times. The first time, I followed it as written. It was good but pretty soggy and lacked kick Next, I added fresh lime juice, which really perked it up. Then I tried it with Mission tortilla strips instead of fresh tortillas - OK and not as soggy. Also did it with pre-fab pico de gallo to which I added the tomatillos. Pretty good. And substituted cheddar for the plain Jack - much better than using 2 kinds of Jack as written. Actually, it was very tasty any way I made it, but always came out soggy. Probably can't fix that, though. Because of the sog factor, I rate it 3.5 stars, rounded up to 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This was excellent. I made it first for my friends at work and they raved about it. My family was the second test because they are not cilantro fans including me and we all loved it! I made it exactly as the recipe states. A keeper and something new at least for us! Thanks for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sunday Morning Chilaquiles

See how to make easy, cheesy breakfast chilaquiles.

Traditional Indiana Breaded Tenderloin

Watch how to make this sandwich that is a favorite of Indiana residents.

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States