Traditional Chicken Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I would DEFINITELY make this recipe again. It was superb; in fact, it was even better after it sat in the fridge a couple of days to let the flavors mingle. YUM! My hubby requested that I tinker to make it spicy, but I really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This was good, but not great. Another reviewer was really on point when saying this is closer to tasting like chicken chili. The only real change I made was adding a few veggies - zucchini, bell pepper, and carrots (all added after sweating the onions). Although I enjoyed it, it certainly wasn't what I was looking for in an Indian Curry. BTW, I waited to add the yogurt until near the end - as I've seen recommended by other reviewers and in recipes - but it curdled anyhow. Will definitely use coconut milk the next time I make a curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTaylorTulsa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
very good! We added a little bit of spice to it after serving up the kids but even without that it would be very good. Am for sure going to make it again!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I was a little disappointed. I am a huge fan of curries, and this one seemed lackluster in flavor. It wasn't bad at all, but I think I should have doubled the spices, and might prefer coconut milk over yogurt. I might try it again with those changes, but not like this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anru7695

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
We and our friends thoroughly enjoyed this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
This dish smelled delicious! However, I was a little disappointed with the end result - not sure why. I wont be making this again, but it was very fun to make a traditional chicken curry dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yaylie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
This is a good solid recipe. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bullcitybob

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Ozark, Missouri, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
With a little tweaking this recipe could be super delicious. Since it was my first time making it I followed the directions. Next time though I will probably make it a a lot spicier. Also, this makes a LOT more than 6 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I made several substitutions. I used a Tbsp of garam masala and substituted a Tbsp of a good curry powder for the other spices. Instead of yogurt I used coconut milk as others suggested. I didn't have the lemon or tomato juice (substituted a can of tomato sauce. I always prefer more vegetables so I added chopped carrot, bell pepper and two jalapenos at the same time as the potato and for the last 10 minutes some frozen peas that I had on hand. Many vegetables would go well in this dish. I also added a chicken bouillon cube to the water. Salt was a must add! Awesome recipe! Everyone was begging for more and for thee recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I was nervous about the long list of ingredients, but now that I have made it so many times, I wouldn't change a thing. This is a great curry that you can easily adjust the "heat" to your own preference. About half way through, I divide the curry and make one very hot for myself, and the other I leave mild for my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetPea
Home Town: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
Living In: O Fallon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States