Traditional Beef Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Made these on New Years Eve. Easy to make and taste great. These are a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scottsharp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
I have made these, but my version is lazier. I use about 3/4 cup salsa or picante sauce instead of the onions and taco sauce. I just stir everything together in a big bowl to make a filling, rather than layering the individual burritos, and I also only bake them for 8-10 minutes, without turning; just enough for a firm burrito that's not too crunchy. I have made them with and without ground beef with equally good results. My whole family loves these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuperN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
These were delicious! I used the taco bell taco sauce my husband loves and served it with pico de gallo. very good. will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
This was a great recipe! The only thing I did differently was to spray the outside of the burritos with cooking spray prior to baking. I increased the temperature to 400 degrees and baked for about 15 minutes. Then, I turned the oven temperature to broil and cooked 5 minutes more. They came out crispy and delicious. Thanks for the easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Culbertson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: La Valle, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Awesome dish, give lots of room for personalization. I added chopped jalapeños and mixed the refried beans with hamburger mix before placing on tortillas. A new family fav!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I liked this recipe but it was kinda bland. I think next time I will add some more spice, maybe a jalopeno or some hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orleans, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I've never made burritos before and my entire family loved it! My kids keep requesting them, and my husband ate the leftovers for lunch - 2 days in a row!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
This turned out one of the best burritos I've ever fixed at home. I used dried minced onion about 2 T worth and only 1/4 c Julio's hot salsa since it was "hot" and not mild. I left out the black beans. I just tossed all the filling ingredients in the skillet at the start with about 3/4 c of chicken broth to break down the meat to a fine texture and simmered this until the liquid was gone. (That is how I always brown my taco meat) I had impatient diners so I only let this bake half the time called for and they were only crispy on one side as a result. This was still a huge hit here and my husband even remarked this was probably my best taco meat this year. I am always trying out new recipes. A keeper! Thanks we loved these. UPDATE 7-27-12: I made this again using 1 cup water and 1 cube chicken bullion at the start to break the meat down to fine particles, 1 TBL dried minced onion and 1 tsp onion powder and then the 1/2 c of medium Julio's salsa (taco sauce) as called for. YUMMO! This is so delicious as works perfectly for the best taco/burrito/enchilada/tostada/taco salad filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
Wonderful recipe!! Just as it is is really good, but then I tried it with "Slow Cooker Shredded Beef for Tacos and Burritos" in place of the gr. beef mixture. Oh man! Not quick, but so, so delicious. Rivals "Tito's Tacos" burritos in Culver City (don't know if it's still there, but was a childhood fav.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
We just loved loved these, Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxxx

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Easy Beef Stroganoff

This rich, creamy stroganoff makes a tasty weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States