Traditional Bakewell Tart Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
One of our favorite tarts and sometimes I use rice flour rather than all purpose. I think originally that was what it called for . Gives an interesting texture.Always use a little almond flavoring and omit lemon zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I made this into mini tarts instead of a big one and they turned out fantastic. Added some almond extract. Delicious and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MIKEY
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
YUM! I've always wanted to make one of these, and it did not disappoint. I made 12 minis actually, in a muffin tin. I probably used a thicker layer of jam than in the recipe. I also added almond extract to the cake part, only because I like it like that, but it would have been good without! Yumyum, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
My British husband wasn't very impressed. I think if it had enough jam to make a substantial layer on the crust it would've been much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inexcelsis
Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
The Bakewell Tart is a bit of a tradition for my family and I. Having lived in the pretty market town of Bakewell in Derbyshire, England. Home to the original Bakewell tart, before we moved here to America 2 years ago. The dessert dates back to the 1860s. Bakewell tarts are often called Bakewell puddings, but the two desserts are essentially the same. While this recipe is pretty good, I have had to make a few changes to make the recipe more traditional. The pastry should be an almond short crust pastry, I make my pastry as usual but add 1/3 cup of ground almonds. For the frangipane centre I use Clementine zest not lemon. Once the tart has been baked, I always top with Royal icing. A Bakewell tart can essentially be iced or not, but for me the icing just finishes off the cake entirely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
You can omit all the pastry trimming stuff and just fill a regular pastry pie shell!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trishie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
WOW!! I made this at home and it was awesome!! I think that A LOT more people should try making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tart Lemon Triangles

These Tart Lemon Triangles are an elegant and quick dessert.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States