Traci's Chicken Noodle Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I thought there was way too much onion in this recipe. If I make it again I will use less onion and more cheese. I followed the suggestions to add crushed cracker crumbs and I think that was the best part. I served it with fresh green beans on the side and my husband seemed to like it well enough but I was a little disappointed in the overpowering onion taste. Unfortunately, I have enough left over for another meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
This recipe is EXCELLENT! I followed it to a tea with a couple of exceptions; (1) I cut the raw chicken breast into cubes and sauteed until lightly browned BUT not completely cooked. After I sauteed the chicken, I used the same pan to saute the onions. The moisture from the onions helped release the "good chicken bits". I also added frozen peas run under hot water and drained. (2) I placed the casserole in the fridge as directed (with the uncooked macaroni). In the morning I stired the casserole and added more milk. (3) Before baking, I added panco bread crumbs mixed with melted butter. I must mention that I am REALLY NOT a chicken fan!!! BUT having the chicken soak overnight in milk and marined with soup/onion/spices/ cheese makes it moist, tender and flavorful. Next time I make this: I will use cream of broccoli soup and add brooccoli florets and invite ALL my family/friends. THANK YOU Traci!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Made this tonight and everyone loved it. Only thing I did (odd) was baked on the top shelf of my grill. I use it a lot when it is warm. turned out perfect. Oh and no onion-husband is allergic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Added garlic powder, black pepper, whole wheat mac so added more mac since it absorbs less liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Excellent: After combining reviews here are my adjustments. You do not need to make a day ahead. I used 1 large rotisserie chicken deboned; 1 can cream of celery and 1 can cream of chicken with herbs, sautéed onion in 3 tablespoons of butter and added 1 clove pressed garlic and sautéed for 5 minutes more stirring; 1 1/2 cups Colby Jack cheese in place of velveeta; mixed in about 1/2 cup Fried Onions and the last 5 minutes of baking sprinkled remaining container of Fried Onions over top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
If I make this again, I'll have to change it up a bit. I think it's too much onion. Also, I don't use processed cheese so I threw in medium cheddar. I think it could use some kick so I would also add in some cayenne or a bit of crushed red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justynajd
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I'll give it 5*s since I,m sure it's great without alterations! Was looking for a creamy chicken casserole...and used this base but made it with what I had on hand. Wanted to make right away so I did not refrigerate. I halved the recipe & still had enough to freeze (just 2 of us) I cooked & cooled penne pasta & browned the cubes of chicken. I heated the soup & milk (evaporated) and added 1/2 C of cream cheese & 1/2 C sharp cheddar off the heat. I also added a cup of peas & carrots, used white pepper and a dash of nutmeg and a bit of fresh basil. I topped it with a mixture of panko and grated Parmesan for a little crunch. Came out great and only took about 25 minutes in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
used whole wheat egg noodles, 1/2 cream of celery 1/2 cream of chicken and shredded swiss cheese instead of "processed cheese" also marinated my chicken in Worcestershire, evoo and garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Cristina E*

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hilmar, California, USA
Living In: Woodland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Okay, I needed to find a recipe that would fit the ingredients that I had and this one fit! I did change things though. Only because I didn't have the exact ingredients available. I used 1 can mushroom soup and 1 can cream of chicken soup. Also, I used 1 cup shredded mozz. and 1/2 a cup of shredded cheddar. The only thing I would omit or change is the onion. My kids DID NOT like all of the onions. Just use 1 onion and mince them really small. They add good flavor. I also cooked the macaroni ahead a time. I made sure I didn't overcook it. Then I cooked the casserole for 45 mins. The only thing that was not done was the onions and that's only because they were chopped and too big. Also, I melted some butter and sauted bread crumbs and sprinkled those on top. Yum! My husband thinks I should have added peas and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5kids4me

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seward, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Kids give it 5/5 and my wife didn't turn her nose up at it. A win-win!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

See how to make a terrific weeknight casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States