Traci's Adobo Seasoning Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I'm always so happy to be the first to review a recipe, particularly when I can rate it highly. I'm not very familiar or experienced with Tex-Mex or Mexican cooking and the seasonings used, but I do know what I like. Going over the list of herbs and spices, hauling them out of the cabinet one by one, and then mixing them up all told me I was going to like this. The aroma was really wonderful, and it just looked, well, GOOD. My intention was to season some shrimp with this tomorrow but I was too curious to wait that long. I seasoned up a hamburger with this wonderful stuff and grilled it for lunch. It took the boring ol' hamburger and made it something truly special. Even tho' I'm not sure exactly what "Adobo" means or what it's used for, I still know that I can't wait to try this on other meats, chicken, rice, roasted potatoes or for marinades . As I started to make this I could have kicked myself because I had intended to make only half a recipe to start, to see if I liked it, but then realized I was dumping the full amounts into the mixing bowl. As it turned out my happy accident saved me the trouble of having to haul out all those spices again to make a second batch! Nice recipe, Traci. You got the combination and balance just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Looks good! Smells good! Easy to make! I did not put in the salt because we tend not to use any, and I think the seasoning is fine without it! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I made a half batch of this last night and sprinkled most of it over a huge bowl of lightly buttered air popped popcorn. GREAT. Even my kids snarfed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Ok, so, I've never had or made adobo seasoning before, but when I saw that I had everything for this I thought I'd give it a try...I am sooooo glad I did! This is wonderful and I can think of a million and 1 things to use it on. I made this exactly as written and put it into an extra salt shaker that I had, and right next to my salt & pepper shakers it went...I have a feeling that I'm gonna be using this A LOT, lol! Thanks, Traci, for this wonderful, flavorful spice blend! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Had no clue what Adobo seasoning was but its truly delicious. I had everything to mix it up and reading past reviews decided to make the whole batch instead of only half like I was going to. I used this in the Sunday Chicken Dinner by Christina from this site instead of the cajun seasoning the recipe called for. Fantastic!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
I loved this. I made a whole batch so I would have some sitting in the cupboard when I need it. Next time I will cut the salt down by 1/2 T. I used it on bone in skin on breast baked in the oven. Since everyone in the house was at meetings I ate round one by myself. My dd ate it when she got home from church and said it was a good dinner:) Thanks for sharing Traci.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2010
We love the taste of adobo peppers in sauce so in order to get the smokey taste we use smoked paprika. It makes all the difference. Infact we'd use smoke paprika instead of regular. It's a staple in our household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ourway

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I cut the salt in half and used ceasar rimmer instead of celary salt- good stuff!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I will agree with past reviewers that this was a little too salty for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ay Sontespli

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
This was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fajita Seasoning

Turn simple spices into a flavorful fajita seasoning blend.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States