Tourtiers (French Pork Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Sounds like the recipe my Dad uses except he uses very thinly sliced potatoes and does alternate layers of potato and pork in a dutch oven so this pie is about 8 inches deep. Don't remember him using celery but this pie with a top and bottom crust is to die for:) His Grandmothers recipe and probably her's as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
I halved the recipe to make 1 pie for the 2 of us. Only change I made was a minor one, I left the potatoes cubed and didn't mash them. We loved it. The whole kitchen smells heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by queenvalerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Followed the recipe exactly. Didn't like - maybe I'm just not a fan of tourtiers....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sasha63

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This is exactly what i was looking for. Didn't really time the meat, just cooked until most of the water was gone and didn't measure seasoning. Added to taste what I thought it needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rdy4fn24

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This was awesome...just like I remember. I actually love the idea of simmering for three hours...it makes the whole house smell wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brighton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I guess it's one of those foods that you had to grow up with. I didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
the texture of this pie is nice, however, i find the amount of clove to be a bit much. i modified this recipe upon first try, adding sage, thyme, onion powder, parsley and dried celery and celery salt. scrumptious-- next time, i would approximately halve the clove- thank you for this recipe 3.75-4.0!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
This was an amazing dish! It smelled wonderful all afternoon and the taste was incredible. It is easy to make, even though it takes half a day to make (most of the time you don't need to tend to the dish). I followed the instructions exactly and wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
this is very good. I didnt see the chopped celery so it wasnt added and tasted even better than the ones i use to buy at the store(they only made pork pies there)which closed down years ago. very moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leogrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I am so glad I found this recipe! My parents and my meme before them make this every year for Christmas Eve! Now I can surprise my father (a pepe himself now) with one! This pie is the best and oh so good! Everyone should give this recipe a try, you'll surely love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States