Tourtiers (French Pork Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
every year I search for this recipe. It is excellent, moist vs dry as many pork pies are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I thought this was going to be sooo dry, but it was REALLY good!! And definately not dry! I will definately make this again, and maybe even experiment with adding veggies to it. Don't be afraid of the cinnamon...it adds a really nice flavor! :) PS: I used the Basic Flaky Pie Crust recipe from this site, I just can't buy pre-made when it's so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODWIZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Del Rio, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Great recipe! Thank you Added more seasoning to taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This was the closest I have ever come to my Aunt Germaine's recipe. Loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Easy and Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Ii only gave this 4 stars because I think the celery is a little out of place. My grandfather from Quebec used to make these for the holidays and every year we think of him while making it (it is a labor of love as it does take a long time). As for the naysayers here, I think it's just an aquired taste. If you didn't grow up with these unique flavors filling your kitchen you may not like it. Thank you for sharing this recipe, we just love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miss margo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
My grandmothers used to make this for the holidays too; I didn't care if there was another dish served or not...as long as I had my own pie! Like my grandmothers, I use a fresh ham and boil it until well cooked and falling from the bone. It may be hard to find a fresh ham, so substituting the ground pork works too. I then grind the ham, and put the potatoes through the grinder/strainer as well. The rest of the recipe is basically the same, except we didn't/don't use celery or bay leaf. And the pastry dough is made fresh...preferably with lard. Glad to see someone else knows what this wonderful dish is! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bineshi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
I found this recipe to be delicious and highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for an authentic French pork pie recipe. Everyone in my family loved it and it is definitely one that I will be making again and again...for those of you who have never tried French pork pie, it can be somewhat of an aquired taste with the strange combination of spices. I have found that most people either love it or hate it. I would also like to add that I am always surprised when people leave ratings of 1 or 2 stars for a recipe when it is a food that they never tried before and do not care for the taste...their rating has more to do with personal likes/dislikes and not the actual success of the recipe...let's face it. If you don't like the taste of tourtiers, regardless of which recipe you try, you are not going to like tourtiers. I take a lot of stock in the amount of stars a recipe has and almost overlooked this recipe because of negative reviews from people who didn't know how tourtiers were supposed to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
I went out on a limb with this one, looking for something new to try with pork, but unfortunately, we just didn't care for it. The aroma of the cinnamon and cloves mixed with the pork seemed a little odd, but then, I guess it's all in what you're used to and this one is probably an acquired taste. Had I known what a tourtier was supposed to taste like, I probably wouldn't have tried this recipe in the first place. That said though, I can't give anything more than one star to a recipe that 0 out of 6 people in my family liked, even if it is supposed to be a really good tortier. I guess reviews mean different things to different people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I'm from Quebec so I know my tourtieres. This is the most delicious one I have ever had. I used a 2 to 1 pork and veal blend (my preference) though. I'm sure my guests will be asking for this recipe tonight! Thanks for sharing.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Stuffed Pork Chops I

Thick pork chops bake with bread stuffing and cream of mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States