Tourtiers (French Pork Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
This was amazing! It was the first time I made it and also tasted it. It is very popular here in Maine. Now I know why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Solitude Social

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicopee, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by KTWINK
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
I found this after searching recipes for ground pork. Having never heard of a tourtière, or tasted anything like it, I decided to make this as the ingredients caught my attention. One user described tourtières as an acquired taste, which made me nervous, but I dived in anyway. WOW this was DELICIOUS! Each bite was better than the previous. I don't know how anyone could not love it. I only had about a pound of ground pork, so I halved the recipe. I only had whole cloves, so I ended up grating them on a zester until I had what I thought looked like 1/8 tsp, and I used a small bay leaf. It took about 2 1/2 hours of simmering on low for all the water to cook out. I used 3 medium-to-small potatoes, as I had slightly less meat than called for, and it turned well. I also made my own crusts using the Butter Flaky Crust recipe from this site and those turned out great as well. (BTW, my crusts were perfect due to the suggestion of grating frozen butter. Genius.) I ended up having to freeze this and the crust dough for a week before actually baking. It was no big deal, I let both thaw in the fridge overnight then let the meat-potato filling thaw further on the counter. I rolled out half the dough, lined a pie pan, gave it an egg wash to seal it, (so it wouldn't get soggy) and partially baked it at the above temp for 5-7 minutes. Then I filled the pie, rolled out and placed the top crust, cut vents and egg washed that. Baked for the time allotted. Perfect. I will be making this agai
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Very similar to Nana's meat pies except for the celery. Celery sort of stales the custom, so to speak. When I tinker with Tourtiere, what I usually do is up the cinnamon. My sister uses frozen pie crusts. I like the tender flaky DIY crust made with lard. This recipe is very close to original. Not busy . that's the way passed down recipes are supposed to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I halved the recipe because I wanted only one pie. The directions are easy to follow. I was nervous about the cinnamon and cloves but they are really wonderful with the pork. I am guilty of eating a couple of spoonfuls of the filling right out of the pot! I think this pie would be good even cold with some cranberry chutney!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Redcliff, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
My father made tourtiere (Tooque in my family))every year for Christmas Eve. Our version may be the Nashua French Hill style. It became a cook fest for the grandkids with Papa as he got older. We make about 20 pies every year after Thanksgiving, freeze and rebake for Christmas eve as we are spread far and wide. We simmer pork, white wine, onions, savory, pepper, sage and bay leaves for about 4 hours. Potatoes are added to the cooled mixture to bind and thicken. The boys have become the pie crust kings and we spoon the mixture (1 1/2 pounds per pie) into the parbaked bottom crust, cover with the top crust, cut snowmen and christmas trees to vent and bake for about 40 minutes. The cooled pies are put into gallon sized ziplock bags and frozen. On Christmas Eve we serve with cornichons, beets and cranberry sauce. It still makes me think about how much I miss my father.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I made 1 pie and used 1 1/2 lbs of ground pork, almost a 1/4t of ground cloves & ground cinnamon each, 1/2 large chopped onion, 1t salt, 1/2 bay leaf & 4c of water. I also used 4 white potatoes & mashed them with a little milk & butter. Mom & Dad said it was the best pork pie they've ever had! Definitely a keeper of a recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This was fantastic. I made only one pie since that was the amt of pork I had. Baked it in 8" glass pie pan (saw that in one of the pics) it was thicker that way. I brushed the bottom crust with beaten egg and baked the crust for 5 min. before filling it. Then brushed the top crust with egg and baked according to recipe. My husband is from Quebec and has had many a tourtiere. He raved that this was the best he ever had. He even told his family and friends about it! I'm making 3 more today for the holidays :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Salem, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Lovely recipe! I made these for a dinner party appetizer course and they were a hit. I made them in a muffin pan to have small individual pies for cleaner plating. I have been asked for this recipe several times now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
every year I search for this recipe. It is excellent, moist vs dry as many pork pies are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I thought this was going to be sooo dry, but it was REALLY good!! And definately not dry! I will definately make this again, and maybe even experiment with adding veggies to it. Don't be afraid of the cinnamon...it adds a really nice flavor! :) PS: I used the Basic Flaky Pie Crust recipe from this site, I just can't buy pre-made when it's so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODWIZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Del Rio, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States