Tourtiers (French Pork Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
MY Grandmother, (my "meme") made a similar mix of pork and mashed potatoes, but used a bit of sage for flavor and used it to stuff ducks or geese. Magnifique!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
This is delicious! And easy to make, too. It does take a long time to cook but the results are worth it... we got a fluffy, well-flavored meat pie. This one's definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
I did substitute half ground beef and half pork. Only made one pie for 3 of us. Definitely a keeper for a winter night meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
Our family makes Tourtiere pie every year, too, but our recipe uses 1/2-2/3 hamburg, and the rest pork. And we cook it up with a chopped onion instead of celery, which I think tastes even better. All in all, this is a great and easy recipe, and is delicious hot out of the oven, or cold out of the fridge the next day! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orland, Maine, USA
Living In: Old Town, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
I made this recipe over the holidays and my entire family loved it. I halved the recipe and only made one pie but have been asked to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I am so glad I found this recipe! My parents and my meme before them make this every year for Christmas Eve! Now I can surprise my father (a pepe himself now) with one! This pie is the best and oh so good! Everyone should give this recipe a try, you'll surely love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
My grandmothers used to make this for the holidays too; I didn't care if there was another dish served or not...as long as I had my own pie! Like my grandmothers, I use a fresh ham and boil it until well cooked and falling from the bone. It may be hard to find a fresh ham, so substituting the ground pork works too. I then grind the ham, and put the potatoes through the grinder/strainer as well. The rest of the recipe is basically the same, except we didn't/don't use celery or bay leaf. And the pastry dough is made fresh...preferably with lard. Glad to see someone else knows what this wonderful dish is! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bineshi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I'm from Quebec so I know my tourtieres. This is the most delicious one I have ever had. I used a 2 to 1 pork and veal blend (my preference) though. I'm sure my guests will be asking for this recipe tonight! Thanks for sharing.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
I halved the recipe to make 1 pie for the 2 of us. Only change I made was a minor one, I left the potatoes cubed and didn't mash them. We loved it. The whole kitchen smells heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by queenvalerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
I found this recipe to be delicious and highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for an authentic French pork pie recipe. Everyone in my family loved it and it is definitely one that I will be making again and again...for those of you who have never tried French pork pie, it can be somewhat of an aquired taste with the strange combination of spices. I have found that most people either love it or hate it. I would also like to add that I am always surprised when people leave ratings of 1 or 2 stars for a recipe when it is a food that they never tried before and do not care for the taste...their rating has more to do with personal likes/dislikes and not the actual success of the recipe...let's face it. If you don't like the taste of tourtiers, regardless of which recipe you try, you are not going to like tourtiers. I take a lot of stock in the amount of stars a recipe has and almost overlooked this recipe because of negative reviews from people who didn't know how tourtiers were supposed to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States