Tourtiers (French Pork Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
This is delicious! And easy to make, too. It does take a long time to cook but the results are worth it... we got a fluffy, well-flavored meat pie. This one's definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
MY Grandmother, (my "meme") made a similar mix of pork and mashed potatoes, but used a bit of sage for flavor and used it to stuff ducks or geese. Magnifique!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
This is very similar to what my dad used to make but he mixed pork and veal together. The french name is "tourtière" and it is very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
Our family makes Tourtiere pie every year, too, but our recipe uses 1/2-2/3 hamburg, and the rest pork. And we cook it up with a chopped onion instead of celery, which I think tastes even better. All in all, this is a great and easy recipe, and is delicious hot out of the oven, or cold out of the fridge the next day! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orland, Maine, USA
Living In: Old Town, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
I made this recipe over the holidays and my entire family loved it. I halved the recipe and only made one pie but have been asked to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
I did substitute half ground beef and half pork. Only made one pie for 3 of us. Definitely a keeper for a winter night meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
I really don't like to give bad reviews but my husband wouldn't even eat this after 2 bites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chino Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darryl
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I wouldn't say it's the best Tourtiere recipe I've ever tried, but it's not bad. I think I'd prefer a few more ingredients to make it a bit more flavourful A Quebecois collegue at work thought it smelled great though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I am so glad I found this recipe! My parents and my meme before them make this every year for Christmas Eve! Now I can surprise my father (a pepe himself now) with one! This pie is the best and oh so good! Everyone should give this recipe a try, you'll surely love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
this is very good. I didnt see the chopped celery so it wasnt added and tasted even better than the ones i use to buy at the store(they only made pork pies there)which closed down years ago. very moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leogrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States