Tourtiers (French Pork Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
It was a strange taste. My husband had to add a lot of ketchup to even eat. Won't be making this again. Thanks anyways.............happy eating!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
This was pretty good. I thought that the cinnamon was a little overpowering, more for the aroma than the taste. I have been wanting to make this for some time so I appreciate you posting the recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Sounds like the recipe my Dad uses except he uses very thinly sliced potatoes and does alternate layers of potato and pork in a dutch oven so this pie is about 8 inches deep. Don't remember him using celery but this pie with a top and bottom crust is to die for:) His Grandmothers recipe and probably her's as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
I halved the recipe to make 1 pie for the 2 of us. Only change I made was a minor one, I left the potatoes cubed and didn't mash them. We loved it. The whole kitchen smells heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by queenvalerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Followed the recipe exactly. Didn't like - maybe I'm just not a fan of tourtiers....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sasha63

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This is exactly what i was looking for. Didn't really time the meat, just cooked until most of the water was gone and didn't measure seasoning. Added to taste what I thought it needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rdy4fn24

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This was awesome...just like I remember. I actually love the idea of simmering for three hours...it makes the whole house smell wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brighton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I guess it's one of those foods that you had to grow up with. I didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
the texture of this pie is nice, however, i find the amount of clove to be a bit much. i modified this recipe upon first try, adding sage, thyme, onion powder, parsley and dried celery and celery salt. scrumptious-- next time, i would approximately halve the clove- thank you for this recipe 3.75-4.0!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
This was an amazing dish! It smelled wonderful all afternoon and the taste was incredible. It is easy to make, even though it takes half a day to make (most of the time you don't need to tend to the dish). I followed the instructions exactly and wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States