Tourtiere Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2003
Excellent! I have tried many tourtiere recipies and having a French family, this was one of the most savory flavoured. It is quite a compliment when they keep coming back for seconds. The sage and bacon gives this one a great touch. I find the clove spice in other pies, just too strong and over-powering. Great job Jean!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
Born and raised in Ontario, Canada, I was looking for a good tourtiere recipe. I found this to be a keeper, very tasty. I will make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
I made this for a group of girlfriends, and they all RAVED about it. EXCELLENT recipe! I think I'll make it for our family Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I've been using this recipe for the past 5 yrs now and always get requests to bring to family get togethers at Christmas time. I do agree that the addition of bacon to this classic recipe makes the "little difference"... excellent recipe!! :oD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimelu

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This is an absolutely terrific recipe and everyone went nuts over it. I served it with a red onion/apple marmalade. I made the following changes. 1 1/2 lbs pork, 8 slices of bacon, 2/3 cup of both celery and onion, 1 1/2 tsp sage. Chicken broth instead of water. 2 or 3 cloves of garlic. (I did use the 1/2 lb veal)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
Absolutely delicious. I had half a pound of ground veal left after making meatloaf and decided to try out this recipe. Wow. Because this is a rather simplistic dish (a basic meat pie), using quality ingredients is crucial. With the ingredients called for it's a definite 5-star recipe. If you're tempted to omit the veal or pork and use ground beef instead, don't! It WILL fall flat. So, do yourself a flavor (ha ha) and make sure to use the meats and spices called for. I'm sure you will be impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
This is absolutely BY FAR the BEST tourtiere I've ever had! Most families will add leftover mashed potatoes as well to make a creamier consistency...I had some sweet potatoes on hand so I added them instead. That was such an interesting flavor combination with the sweet from the potato and the hickory from the bacon. I couldn't wait to try it after having to smell it bake! It was definitely a nice change from the regular tourtiere that I'm used to having and will now be a permanent addition to our holiday meals. Thanks SO MUCH!! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhondam

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Falher, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Whitecourt, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Excellent! I made two pies, and they were gone in no time! I usually make this for Christmas Eve, but you can make this any time of the year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Qualicum Beach, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Made the recipe as written, never having had/heard of tourtiere, not being French in any way, just looking for a different way to serve ground pork/veal. Absolutely delicious! Wouldn't change a thing. Subtle flavors, flaky crust; I loved it. It took a little less time in my convection oven; I took it out when it was a beautiful golden brown. Do let it cool a bit, it stays together better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
This was a very easy and delicious recipe, although I did make some minor changes. Used fresh thyme and a couple pinches of dry rosemary instead of the sage, 2 carrots, and used beef stock instead of the water. Next time I would brown the meat and bacon separately since it took so long (a lot of meat and an average sized Dutch oven), and I think that would also make straining the fat easier. My husband loved it and I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States