Tourtiere Spices Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Just mixed this together to use in 'Reveillon Tourtiere' from AR for Christmas dinner. It smells amazing! I did add half a teaspoon of ground allspice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
This was just what I was looking for I combined it with the Cipate Pie which is the way they make it on the south shore of Quebec. I did add the allspice as well. I soaked my meat & potatoes in theses spices which chicken broth overnight. The smell as it cooked was mouth watering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Please add "all spice" (piment de la jamaique) to the mix, it is essential!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
This was very good. I also added 1/4tsp cardamom and 1/2tsp onion powder (to take the place of chopped onion in the meat mix).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elusivek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Goffstown, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Great spice combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laval, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
What a great idea - I never thought to prepare this mix ahead of time! My mom and aunts will be thrilled to receive little jars of this at Christmas - they were raised by my French-Canadian great aunt and are forever talking about her cooking. thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Darryl
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
It smells delicious. Now to try it in the pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
I've never had tourtiere pie before, but I'm making bite-sized "tourtiere phyllo bundle" appetizers for a staff Christmas party this year. I used an entire recipe of this spice in approximately 1 lb of pork, and will be wrapping small amounts of it in phyllo, and baking until crisp. The filling, so far, is great - slightly floral, nicely spiced and balanced by the cloves, pepper, and cinnamon. I would make this again to accompany pork, or even lamb - delicious! Edit: everyone loved the pork bundles! I had cooked the pork a little lean, so the appetizers were served with a tamarind sauce. With or without the sauce, the hors d'oevres were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cajun Spice Mix

See how to make a mildly hot Cajun spice mix…for just about anything!

Homemade Vanilla Extract

See how easy it is to make vanilla extract from scratch.

Fajita Seasoning

Turn simple spices into a flavorful fajita seasoning blend.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States