Tourtiere Spices Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Just mixed this together to use in 'Reveillon Tourtiere' from AR for Christmas dinner. It smells amazing! I did add half a teaspoon of ground allspice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
This was just what I was looking for I combined it with the Cipate Pie which is the way they make it on the south shore of Quebec. I did add the allspice as well. I soaked my meat & potatoes in theses spices which chicken broth overnight. The smell as it cooked was mouth watering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Please add "all spice" (piment de la jamaique) to the mix, it is essential!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
This was very good. I also added 1/4tsp cardamom and 1/2tsp onion powder (to take the place of chopped onion in the meat mix).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elusivek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Goffstown, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Great spice combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laval, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
What a great idea - I never thought to prepare this mix ahead of time! My mom and aunts will be thrilled to receive little jars of this at Christmas - they were raised by my French-Canadian great aunt and are forever talking about her cooking. thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Darryl
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
It smells delicious. Now to try it in the pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
I've never had tourtiere pie before, but I'm making bite-sized "tourtiere phyllo bundle" appetizers for a staff Christmas party this year. I used an entire recipe of this spice in approximately 1 lb of pork, and will be wrapping small amounts of it in phyllo, and baking until crisp. The filling, so far, is great - slightly floral, nicely spiced and balanced by the cloves, pepper, and cinnamon. I would make this again to accompany pork, or even lamb - delicious! Edit: everyone loved the pork bundles! I had cooked the pork a little lean, so the appetizers were served with a tamarind sauce. With or without the sauce, the hors d'oevres were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Spice Mix

See how to make a mildly hot Cajun spice mix…for just about anything!

Homemade Vanilla Extract

See how easy it is to make vanilla extract from scratch.

Fajita Seasoning

Turn simple spices into a flavorful fajita seasoning blend.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States