Tourtiere (Meat Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2002
We made this at work has a great taste and very easy to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darryl
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
Best Tourtiere recipe yet! Very tasty combination of spices, strong, but not strange or anything. Excellent instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
Loved this recipe. Easy to make and tasted delicious. I've been looking for a tourtiere recipe for years and I've finally found the one! My husband ate it for supper and then lunch the next day. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Farnham, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
Excellent! I've had true French Canadian Tourtiere before, and this tasted almost as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2003
An outstanding recipe that always goes over well. Lots of chopping (thank goodness for food processors), but the end result is always great. Use the leanest meat you can find! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
These pies taste just like the ones my mother-in-law made. Very good. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
My mother turned her nose up at this at first. She said it smelled like a mince meat pie, which she KNEW she didn't like. After she tried it though, she was wowed. Has asked me to make it again for her. I liked the cinnamon and cloves, gave it a very nice hearty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casserole Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
This was very good! I did the recipe exactly as written and it came out perfectly. I used a roll out premade crust. I've seen this recipe with Paprika and I'll probably add that next time. Otherwise, the mincing was the hardest thing. I'll definitely use my food processor next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NoirJet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
This recipe I serve with peppercorn gravy and have had to pass on the recipe to all that taste it! Even better than mom used to make! (Even SHE asked for my recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I have made this tourtiere twice and here's what I learned: 1) it's better to boil the potato pieces for about 10 minutes before adding them to the meat mixture (1st time they were undercooked) 2) we thought the original recipe was pretty good, but found we didn't really care for the cinnamon and cloves, so the second time I made this, I omitted them. Might taste a little less like a true tortiere, but it sure makes a delicious meat pie that even picky kids will love. 3) If you think you have celery in your crisper and realize at the last minute that you don't, a cup of frozen peas tossed in makes a great substitute. 4)Tasty recipe and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States