Tourtiere (Meat Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
**Please note that while the ingredient list states that 1 pie crust is needed, the directions refer to 2** Although I am partial to Cincinnati-style chili, and am used to beef flavored with cinnamon and cloves, I thought the measurements in this recipe were a tad excessive. I wish I'd added them a little at a time - they were so strong, I had to omit the allspice completely. I managed to avoid the undercooked vegetable problem by adding more stock to the meat mix, and simmering it for about 12 mins. Perfect. Thanks, Wendy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OHIOMOM1
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
This was okay. I used 2 potatoes and didn't use celery as I didn't have any. I shredded one carrot, and chopped another up. I chopped everything into small pieces and they all came out fully cooked. I've never had French Canadian food before, so I wasn't used to the combinations. While it was okay, I think that next time I will omit the sweet spices (cinnamon, nutmeg & cloves) and substitute savory such as marjoram, garlic powder, onion powder and maybe basil. The flavors didn't mesh together for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OHIOMOM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
My mother turned her nose up at this at first. She said it smelled like a mince meat pie, which she KNEW she didn't like. After she tried it though, she was wowed. Has asked me to make it again for her. I liked the cinnamon and cloves, gave it a very nice hearty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casserole Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
This was very good... next time though I will make my own crust instead of using a ready made one and pre cook the potato a bit so I can use bigger chunks instead of small. My husband gobbled it up. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsCdnFrog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napanee, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
These pies taste just like the ones my mother-in-law made. Very good. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
This had a very dry crumbly texture that was not what I was looking for in a meat pie. Also, the potatoes were still very firm which made the whole meal a flop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2003
An outstanding recipe that always goes over well. Lots of chopping (thank goodness for food processors), but the end result is always great. Use the leanest meat you can find! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
Excellent! I've had true French Canadian Tourtiere before, and this tasted almost as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
Delicous - took one to my sister's house for Christmas. Everyone liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JSquared1970

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Essex, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
Loved this recipe. Easy to make and tasted delicious. I've been looking for a tourtiere recipe for years and I've finally found the one! My husband ate it for supper and then lunch the next day. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Farnham, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States