Tourtiere (Meat Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Reitha
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
This turned out beautiful. The taste was what I expected, (from the ingredients listed) but I think it needs a sauce of some kind, some gravy or something to bind it together. Oh, I only used pork and no cloves. I hate buying spices for one recipe and never useing them again. All in all it was good. Thanks! AND can someone tell me the correct way to pronounce tourtiere?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reitha
Home Town: Bolivar, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I have made this tourtiere twice and here's what I learned: 1) it's better to boil the potato pieces for about 10 minutes before adding them to the meat mixture (1st time they were undercooked) 2) we thought the original recipe was pretty good, but found we didn't really care for the cinnamon and cloves, so the second time I made this, I omitted them. Might taste a little less like a true tortiere, but it sure makes a delicious meat pie that even picky kids will love. 3) If you think you have celery in your crisper and realize at the last minute that you don't, a cup of frozen peas tossed in makes a great substitute. 4)Tasty recipe and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
My husband and I love going to Quebec for Christmas every three years. This recipe reminded me of the wonderful scents that came from the local restaurants. I used a mixture of ground beef, ground pork and ground veal, which is easily available at the grocery store. Mincing the vegetables were a task, but well worth it. The spices were perfect and filled my kitchen with a wonderful savory scent. It was snowing really hard yesterday and this dish fit the bill with a hungry husband who spent the whole day out on the road. This recipe is definitely a keeper in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
This recipe I serve with peppercorn gravy and have had to pass on the recipe to all that taste it! Even better than mom used to make! (Even SHE asked for my recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darryl
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
Best Tourtiere recipe yet! Very tasty combination of spices, strong, but not strange or anything. Excellent instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
This is one I keep coming back to over and over. It's excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEMURONE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
This was very good! I did the recipe exactly as written and it came out perfectly. I used a roll out premade crust. I've seen this recipe with Paprika and I'll probably add that next time. Otherwise, the mincing was the hardest thing. I'll definitely use my food processor next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NoirJet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
After reading the reviews I tried to tweak this to our liking. I love experimenting with ethnic foods but also like to please my family so in place of bouillan and water I used 99% fat free beef broth, excluded the bay leaf since my husband hates bay leaf and cut back on the cinnaman, cloves and nutmeg, though it turned out ok it was not well received in my family. But thats the great thing about all recipes, you make what you like. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
The spices complement the vegetables well. I added salt to my serving as it need something. It was excellent after that. I've also made this like Shepherd's Pie by omitting the potatoes and crust, and spreading a layer of mashed potato on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, New York, USA
Living In: Utica, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
**Please note that while the ingredient list states that 1 pie crust is needed, the directions refer to 2** Although I am partial to Cincinnati-style chili, and am used to beef flavored with cinnamon and cloves, I thought the measurements in this recipe were a tad excessive. I wish I'd added them a little at a time - they were so strong, I had to omit the allspice completely. I managed to avoid the undercooked vegetable problem by adding more stock to the meat mix, and simmering it for about 12 mins. Perfect. Thanks, Wendy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States