Tourtiere (Meat Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
I loved this recipe, it tasted great and was fun to make. Only difference I made was, I made my own pie crust rather then buying a store bought one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
This recipe was okay but it was not what a tourtiere is like in Quebec. There are no potatoes in tourtiere and there is not chicken broth ... I'm not quite sure what nationality this Tourtiere comes from and it didn't taste bad but it was not a Quebec recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summerpls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lachute, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
My family enjoyed this very much. I did change it quite a bit to suit our tastes. I left out the spices except the pepper and added a seasoning blend. I added almost one can of cream soup since many reviews thought it was dry and added some cheddar cheese. My family likes crunchy veggies so I didn't add the celery and carrots until the very end of cooking the hamburger mixture on the stove. I also used all hamburger since I didn't have the pork on hand. It turned out beautifully and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Very good! i add extra carrot and corn as well!.. and being the forgetful person i am i forgot to add the spices before you bake it and it still turned out really well! this recipe is easy and quick very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Very good! My aunt and I made it and were impressed with the blend of flavors. We mostly stuck to the recipe with a few minor changes we had seen in the comments. Its a keeper and we'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
I think it needed a thickener, maybe a little gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
My husband and I thought this was very good. The spices were not over powering. I used the "Miracle Baking Powder Pie Crust" from this site, which came out very flaky, tasty, and a perfect companion with this meat pie. Will make again and again. Thanks for an excellect recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adams, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Henderson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Finally! I've now found a recipe to rival my father's! Our grocery store sells a 'meatloaf mix' which is 1/3 lean ground beef, 1/3 ground pork and 1/3 ground veal. This is the only change I made. I doubled the recipe and am so glad I did ... because now we have another whole pie in the freezer for New Years Eve!! My husband is still raving to his family about the Tourtiere we had on Christmas Eve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
My whole family loved this and it was easy for a beginner to cook, though time-consuming. The great part is that it uses ingredients that we keep around the house, but the staple dessert spices give the "same old" a completely new spin. My approach was to use only beef (it was all we had), boil the potatoes, and not worry about the egg wash. Everyone was pleased, so we'll be doing this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fly by Light

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
WOW!! This was very good! I took other reviewers advice & omitted the cinnamon & cloves, and added an extra potato. My husband raved about it all night long! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States