Tourtiere (Meat Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2002
This excellent pie makes a great dinner for family or company, something out of the ordinary. If you have not experienced French Canadian cooking, you may find the flavors unusual, but very delicious! We added an extra potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2002
We made this at work has a great taste and very easy to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
Loved this recipe. Easy to make and tasted delicious. I've been looking for a tourtiere recipe for years and I've finally found the one! My husband ate it for supper and then lunch the next day. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Farnham, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
Delicous - took one to my sister's house for Christmas. Everyone liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JSquared1970

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Essex, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
Excellent! I've had true French Canadian Tourtiere before, and this tasted almost as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2003
An outstanding recipe that always goes over well. Lots of chopping (thank goodness for food processors), but the end result is always great. Use the leanest meat you can find! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
This had a very dry crumbly texture that was not what I was looking for in a meat pie. Also, the potatoes were still very firm which made the whole meal a flop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
These pies taste just like the ones my mother-in-law made. Very good. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
This was very good... next time though I will make my own crust instead of using a ready made one and pre cook the potato a bit so I can use bigger chunks instead of small. My husband gobbled it up. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsCdnFrog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napanee, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
My mother turned her nose up at this at first. She said it smelled like a mince meat pie, which she KNEW she didn't like. After she tried it though, she was wowed. Has asked me to make it again for her. I liked the cinnamon and cloves, gave it a very nice hearty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casserole Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States