Tourtiere (Meat Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Quite good and I'll make it again. Next time I'll omit the cinnamon and cloves too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
It was too dry. It was like eating flavoured ground beef in a shell. I expected some sort of gravy or juices
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
This is delicious! I added some poultry seasoning to the filling and turmeric to the top crust. My whole family loved it! We ate on Christmas Eve. Thanks for the wonderful new tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Liked but not loved. Recipe didn't mention you needed 2 crusts, so I only used a top one. Cooking potatoes pieces with carrots will soften them. Would make again, reminded us of pasties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Could just be me but it was far too salty. Will put one cube next time and it probably didn't help that I used back bacon too, though I always use the three mixes when I make a pie and it has never been salty. Otherwise I am sure it is a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OjibwayGirl
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Delicious. I didn't have a potato but had shredded frozen hash browns and they worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
My mother made this every Christmas Eve. We would go to midnight mass, come home, open one gift and eat tourtiere. It was magical. She still makes one pie for me at Christmas for my family. We don't attend midnight mass anymore, but we ALWAYS have this at Christmas Eve. I should make it more often - it's a fabulous cold weather treat or meal. I leave off the nutmeg - it's too much for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
fabulous, thanks so much for sharing! My husband loved it. I used ground veal instead of lean ground meat, and added a 1/4 teaspoon of allspice and instead of water I used chicken broth. Its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robynnsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
delicious...now that it's getting colder, will be a staple for my fall/winter dinners
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I've made this several times and it is really delicious and pretty simple. I like the spice combination, even though it is different from what's usually used with ground pork & beef. The only thing I change is I leave out the onion and garlic (I can't eat them) and use some celery seed in their place. I definitely recommend this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States