Tourtiere (Meat Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I have made this tourtiere twice and here's what I learned: 1) it's better to boil the potato pieces for about 10 minutes before adding them to the meat mixture (1st time they were undercooked) 2) we thought the original recipe was pretty good, but found we didn't really care for the cinnamon and cloves, so the second time I made this, I omitted them. Might taste a little less like a true tortiere, but it sure makes a delicious meat pie that even picky kids will love. 3) If you think you have celery in your crisper and realize at the last minute that you don't, a cup of frozen peas tossed in makes a great substitute. 4)Tasty recipe and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OHIOMOM1
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
This was okay. I used 2 potatoes and didn't use celery as I didn't have any. I shredded one carrot, and chopped another up. I chopped everything into small pieces and they all came out fully cooked. I've never had French Canadian food before, so I wasn't used to the combinations. While it was okay, I think that next time I will omit the sweet spices (cinnamon, nutmeg & cloves) and substitute savory such as marjoram, garlic powder, onion powder and maybe basil. The flavors didn't mesh together for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OHIOMOM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
This is one I keep coming back to over and over. It's excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEMURONE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This is absolutely the best Tourtiere although I did add 1 tsp Allspice for authenticity. For ease and consistency, I put the potato, celery and carrot through the food processor, chopped very fine. I did as another reviewer suggested - cooked the meat the day before. I used Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust for the pastry - this is the best pastry. And I made the pies into 5" tart size. We had one last night and the rest I've frozen. I was making these for gifts so I 6X the filling recipe and doubled the pastry recipe - got exactly 16 small pies. A tourtiere is different from a regular meat pie. Leave the spices out and that's what you've got - a regular meat pie, not tourtiere. I put the rather dry pastry scraps into the mixer, added a little water (maybe a TBSP), added 1 c. grated cheddar, mixed well, rolled out into straws and baked. No waste and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
Loved this recipe. Easy to make and tasted delicious. I've been looking for a tourtiere recipe for years and I've finally found the one! My husband ate it for supper and then lunch the next day. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Farnham, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
The spices complement the vegetables well. I added salt to my serving as it need something. It was excellent after that. I've also made this like Shepherd's Pie by omitting the potatoes and crust, and spreading a layer of mashed potato on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, New York, USA
Living In: Utica, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
My husband and I love going to Quebec for Christmas every three years. This recipe reminded me of the wonderful scents that came from the local restaurants. I used a mixture of ground beef, ground pork and ground veal, which is easily available at the grocery store. Mincing the vegetables were a task, but well worth it. The spices were perfect and filled my kitchen with a wonderful savory scent. It was snowing really hard yesterday and this dish fit the bill with a hungry husband who spent the whole day out on the road. This recipe is definitely a keeper in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2002
This excellent pie makes a great dinner for family or company, something out of the ordinary. If you have not experienced French Canadian cooking, you may find the flavors unusual, but very delicious! We added an extra potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
My mother turned her nose up at this at first. She said it smelled like a mince meat pie, which she KNEW she didn't like. After she tried it though, she was wowed. Has asked me to make it again for her. I liked the cinnamon and cloves, gave it a very nice hearty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casserole Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
We loved this. I made it exactly as written, except I only used one crust. I put it in a casserole and topped it with crust. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States