Tourtiere (Meat Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
I was actually looking for a plain English pie recipe when I came across this one. I omitted the cinnamon, bay leaves, cloves and nutmeg, as I just wanted that Meat and Potato flavor. It was excellent, just what I was looking for. My 3 year old gobbled it up too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blackpool, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
EXCELLENT! Our entire family loved this. I did not use the celery, and only used the cinnamon. Added garlic powder, basil, oregano, and salt. The results were fantastic! My 7 year old told me I "could make this any time!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4kidsinthehouse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This sounded like an odd combination with the meat and spices but it was EXCELLENT! We loved it! I made it exactly as called for except used beef bullion instead of chicken since that was all we had. I did not have a problem with undercooked potatoes. I think the key there is to cut them really tiny which is what I did. We'll definately be having this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
Just great, doubled the recipe, omitted the cloves (didn't have ground cloves), added small amount of cayenne pepper, cooked and mashed the potatoes. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlene Jacques

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
This came out pretty good. I agree with the other reviewers with the fact that there isn't enough liquid. I took that into account and added 1 packet onion mushroom soup mix as well as water mixed with a little cornstarch before adding to the pie crust. It still was a bit on the drier side. I actually enjoyed the nutmeg, cloves and cinnamon. The flavors were subtle and not overpowering. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baby Potsticker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
I loved this recipe, it tasted great and was fun to make. Only difference I made was, I made my own pie crust rather then buying a store bought one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
This recipe was okay but it was not what a tourtiere is like in Quebec. There are no potatoes in tourtiere and there is not chicken broth ... I'm not quite sure what nationality this Tourtiere comes from and it didn't taste bad but it was not a Quebec recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summerpls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lachute, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
My family enjoyed this very much. I did change it quite a bit to suit our tastes. I left out the spices except the pepper and added a seasoning blend. I added almost one can of cream soup since many reviews thought it was dry and added some cheddar cheese. My family likes crunchy veggies so I didn't add the celery and carrots until the very end of cooking the hamburger mixture on the stove. I also used all hamburger since I didn't have the pork on hand. It turned out beautifully and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Very good! i add extra carrot and corn as well!.. and being the forgetful person i am i forgot to add the spices before you bake it and it still turned out really well! this recipe is easy and quick very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Very good! My aunt and I made it and were impressed with the blend of flavors. We mostly stuck to the recipe with a few minor changes we had seen in the comments. Its a keeper and we'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States