Tourtiere (Meat Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Really great recipes, everyone really enjoyed it! I made it with ground moose since that is what I have and it turned out great :) Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niroszyckame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
My family and I are from the south and the spices used in this dish are not common to us what so ever. My husband had a tough time eating it bc the taste was 'weird' to him... but I LOVED IT! I ate the whole pie by myself. I made 2 changes. I used chicken broth instread of boullion and water and I added half a prepared brown gravy mix into it! I also added some finelychopped mixed veggies. my toddler didnt even know there was veggies in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StoreyJeansMomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockwall, Texas, USA
Living In: Forney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by xoxo_lina
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I followed other reviewers' suggestions and boiled the potato, carrot and celery. Other than that, I followed the recipe and my boyfriend and I really enjoyed it! I found the mix of spices very unusual but it totally worked! I served with a side of caesar salad and tomato soup. There was a lot of filling leftover after packing a 9" crust. That's okay though - I put the excess in a Ziplock bag in the freezer. It'll be a quick dinner by throwing in some brown rice and serving with a green salad on a side. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xoxo_lina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
My husband looooovves this dish! He is not a picky eater, but does not eat much. I knew this was a hit he helped himself to several servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
This was a good recipe. I omitted the potatoes since my Mom and grandmother's recipes didn't have them in them. I doubled the recipe, and baked it in a jelly roll pan. I baked it at 450 degrees F for 15 mins, then lowered the temp to 350 degrees for the remaining 30 mins. It was GONE at Christmas dinner and was asked for the recipe from all who were there! I made it a day ahead, and just reheated it the next day. This recipe lends itself well to that and freezing for a later date.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mainamom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Excellent. Great flavour. I've made this more than once and it always turns out. The only change I make is to grate the carrot and potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
I was actually looking for a plain English pie recipe when I came across this one. I omitted the cinnamon, bay leaves, cloves and nutmeg, as I just wanted that Meat and Potato flavor. It was excellent, just what I was looking for. My 3 year old gobbled it up too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blackpool, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
EXCELLENT! Our entire family loved this. I did not use the celery, and only used the cinnamon. Added garlic powder, basil, oregano, and salt. The results were fantastic! My 7 year old told me I "could make this any time!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4kidsinthehouse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This sounded like an odd combination with the meat and spices but it was EXCELLENT! We loved it! I made it exactly as called for except used beef bullion instead of chicken since that was all we had. I did not have a problem with undercooked potatoes. I think the key there is to cut them really tiny which is what I did. We'll definately be having this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
Just great, doubled the recipe, omitted the cloves (didn't have ground cloves), added small amount of cayenne pepper, cooked and mashed the potatoes. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlene Jacques

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States