Tourtiere (Meat Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I've made this several times and it is really delicious and pretty simple. I like the spice combination, even though it is different from what's usually used with ground pork & beef. The only thing I change is I leave out the onion and garlic (I can't eat them) and use some celery seed in their place. I definitely recommend this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
This was a fantastic dish! My 4-H club made this for their family dinner and everyone LOVED it. There were several families that asked for this recipe and I plan on using it myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
This is delicious. I've never had shepherd's pie before. Next time I will not add the bouillan and will reduce the clove as that was a little overpowering of a flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I have made meat pies before but this recipe was very, very good..My family loved it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail F. Gorham

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This is an excellent recipe. The spices are just wonderful and would be perfect for a Christmas pie (in fact, I plan to make it for my inlaws this Christmas). This time, though, I made it using an empanada maker as little mini-pies to have as appetizers. If you do this, I'd recommend adding the potato at the same time as the other veg along with a little more water and simmering for about 20 minutes ( you want the potato to be firm tender). This is because the bake time on the little pies is only about 20 minutes instead of the full 45, so the potato won't get done in the oven. This quantity of filling will make about 3 - 4 dozen 3.5 inch diameter empanadas. If you reroll the scraps, you can get about a dozen from one 9 in. crust, so you'll need four crusts for the entire batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I don't know what an authentic tourtiere would taste like, but I found the flavor of this recipe to be bland. Otherwise, I did take the advice of other cooks who chopped and parboiled the potatoes and this seemed to work fine. The cooking instructions were fine, just not a great flavor to me. Perhaps adding some Maggi seasoning would help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
We loved this. I made it exactly as written, except I only used one crust. I put it in a casserole and topped it with crust. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I thought it was good, but members of my family did not. I changed a few things. Since I didn't have ground pork on hand, I substituted it with turkey breakfast sausage. I also used chicken bullion with spices, instead of plane. I doubled the garlic and added 2 potatos. Overall the yeast was sweet and savory, but my husband didn't care for the sweet spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dinner?

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
I did not have any ground pork, so I doubled the beef. Also boiled carrots and potatoes separately with some chicken gravy mix and water instead of bouillon... SO GOOD! My husband said it's a keeper! Served with a green salad and fresh sliced tomatoes... YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Deridder, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Great pie, love the smell and flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twofatcats

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Port Arthur, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States