Toum Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
This is excellent. I used a food processor. The key is constantly keep on blending while alternately adding the oil and lemon. Also make sure you add the oil in a very thin stream. I used 2 cups of garlic and eyeballed the canola oil. If it is still watery, keep on blending. It will will look thick like mayonnaise. Love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I have been making this recipe for a long time now. We love it! You can adjust the garlic and lemon to your liking. I use a lot of garlic, and quite a bit of lemon, along with some kosher salt, and I make it in my food processor. First, I mince the garlic by hand, then I process it with salt and lemon, slowly streaming the oil to emulsify. You can serve this with anything, meats, chicken, seafood, veggies, as a spread or dip. It is great just with pita bread. I also sometimes use the leftovers to make a salad dressing! Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
I thought this was really thin. I normally use a scaled down version of the thick Lebanese sauce from this website. I wanted to test a different recipe this time. I used an emulsion blender instead of mortar in pestle, for ease. I think, this is best with all or half olive oil too. It did work well in a pinch for some red skin potatoes I steamed and grilled. They were kind of bland before adding this. I just had to tweak it some adding a little olive oil and adjusting the other ingredients to make the lemon juice a little less dominant. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Love this!!! I agree with Sarah....it is so much easier using a food processor. Delicious with baked pita bread brush with olive oil/cumin mixture before baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Old Town, Maine, USA
Living In: Orono, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
My husband is middle eastern and we love this! However, you must use olive oil and we also add fresh chopped parsley and 1 small minced jalapeno(no seeds). lemon and salt to taste. It is best served at room temperature once refridgerated the oil can harden..just let it sit out for few minutes before serving. Great with warm bread for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jadedgurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
I don't doubt this is a good recipe as many have rated it 5 stars, however it didn't taste like what I've had in restaurants. I tried the mortar & pestle, I tried my food processor but it came out really hot. I know garlic is hot but it was insane! Did I maybe have bad garlic? I even mixed it in about 1 cup of mayo and it was still way hotter than what I've had at the restaurant...any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Turned out thick and creamy. Used older garlic and it was super strong - too strong to eat on its own (and we love garlic)! Kept it in the fridge and used it in cooking. Next time I'll use fresh garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UNIVSTUDENT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Finally! A toum recipe that did not split for me! I used garlic press, bowl with wooden spoon, and then electric hand mixer, as I do not have mortar and pestle. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Morehead, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Delicious!! Very garlicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
super strong. great recipe:) crushed with food processor instead and used 2 small limes, (calamansi) then baked for 10 min in 300 Fahrenheit. used it for spread. delish:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baba Ghanoush

See how to make a classic, garlicky roasted eggplant spread.

Tzatziki Sauce

This refreshing dip also works well as a dressing or sandwich sauce.

Artichoke Dip

Learn how to make this simple, creamy artichoke dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States