Toum Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
MMMmmm! This IS a classic Lebanese dip- We eat it with oven roasted chicken, dipping the pieces in it. I aslo make mine in the food processor and add mayonnaise instead of veg. oil. Its very addictive, and you will eat alot of it. Its garlic, but it sooo good- its worth the risk. Hint: chew fresh parsley after- it will kill bad breath
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~marie~

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This recipe was fantastic! The only thing I added was extra garlic! Oh and I put mine in a food processor; worked perfectly fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
i really did love this, although it was a pain in the neck for me to make...no mortor and pestle...had to improvise...don't ask. i don't know if i made it correctly. came out almost looking like mayo. thick, creamy and white. it was delicious, but didn't make much. thanks, i might make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
My husband is middle eastern and we love this! However, you must use olive oil and we also add fresh chopped parsley and 1 small minced jalapeno(no seeds). lemon and salt to taste. It is best served at room temperature once refridgerated the oil can harden..just let it sit out for few minutes before serving. Great with warm bread for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jadedgurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
i like this one too and i add it to pasta's, chicken, bbq, bread and i could add it to anything i like .. seafood, yummm .. i also make the toum in the food processer and its much easier, and it fluffies up more than doin it by hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
I love it.It makes a difference crushing garlic & salt with a mortar & pestal than chopping it up & adding oil & lemom juice.It tastes best with roasted chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZEEROME

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Turned out thick and creamy. Used older garlic and it was super strong - too strong to eat on its own (and we love garlic)! Kept it in the fridge and used it in cooking. Next time I'll use fresh garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UNIVSTUDENT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
There was too much lemon juice. I think half a lemon would have been perfect. I had to add the whole bulb and more oil to try to try to tone down the lemon. I like my toum thicker so it was better after a couple of days in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
After devouring the first batch we were out of lemons, so I used limes instead. Still fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Love this!!! I agree with Sarah....it is so much easier using a food processor. Delicious with baked pita bread brush with olive oil/cumin mixture before baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Old Town, Maine, USA
Living In: Orono, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Tzatziki Sauce

This refreshing dip also works well as a dressing or sandwich sauce.

Baba Ghanoush

See how to make a classic, garlicky roasted eggplant spread.

Artichoke Dip

Learn how to make this simple, creamy artichoke dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States