Toum Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
MMMmmm! This IS a classic Lebanese dip- We eat it with oven roasted chicken, dipping the pieces in it. I aslo make mine in the food processor and add mayonnaise instead of veg. oil. Its very addictive, and you will eat alot of it. Its garlic, but it sooo good- its worth the risk. Hint: chew fresh parsley after- it will kill bad breath
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~marie~

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
I love it.It makes a difference crushing garlic & salt with a mortar & pestal than chopping it up & adding oil & lemom juice.It tastes best with roasted chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZEEROME

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
i like this one too and i add it to pasta's, chicken, bbq, bread and i could add it to anything i like .. seafood, yummm .. i also make the toum in the food processer and its much easier, and it fluffies up more than doin it by hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
After devouring the first batch we were out of lemons, so I used limes instead. Still fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
I don't think there is such thing as too much garlic, and this recipe is perfect for the die-hard garlic addicts. It was easy and quick to make, next time will double. Thanks for recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rosichops

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
My son's friend Jon gave me this recipe 15yrs ago. His Mom was Lebanese, and I loved this recipe but lost it. She died not long after I got it, so I'm OVERJOYED to have another copy. Only thing I remember different was putting tahini in it. THANKS for the memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crawford, Colorado, USA
Living In: Elsmere, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
i really did love this, although it was a pain in the neck for me to make...no mortor and pestle...had to improvise...don't ask. i don't know if i made it correctly. came out almost looking like mayo. thick, creamy and white. it was delicious, but didn't make much. thanks, i might make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This recipe was fantastic! The only thing I added was extra garlic! Oh and I put mine in a food processor; worked perfectly fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
I use mayo instead of oil as suggested by other reviews . perfect with roasted chicken or any middle eastern grilled food. thax for the recie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monjfr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
There was too much lemon juice. I think half a lemon would have been perfect. I had to add the whole bulb and more oil to try to try to tone down the lemon. I like my toum thicker so it was better after a couple of days in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baba Ghanoush

See how to make a classic, garlicky roasted eggplant spread.

Tzatziki Sauce

This refreshing dip also works well as a dressing or sandwich sauce.

Artichoke Dip

Learn how to make this simple, creamy artichoke dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States