Touchdown Italian Sausage Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by DHAEMKER
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
My family loved this recipe - I did change up this recipe just a bit. I used some italian sausage from the Italian store in Dallas, Texas Jimmy,s (amazing sausage - reminds me of my childhood), removed the sausage from the casings and made them into balls, baked them in the oven before adding them to the chili. I only used 2 cans of tomatoes, 1 can of red kidney beans, 1 can of white kidney beans, I used moscato wine in place of Sherry, added Worcestershire sauce and sugar. At the end of simmering I did add tri-color cheese tortellinis, made some garlic, herbed, cheese bread and this dish was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago Heights, Illinois, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
We liked this but I did make changes to it by adding chili and cumin powder. I also used the Jalapeno Cheese Sausage Links by Johnsonville (which are fabulous by the way!). I also reduced the amount of tomatoes by 1 can and it still seemed like a lot of diced tomatoes. Iused kidney beans instead of the white bean but only because I didn't have any. I think the Sherry is what made this stand out flavor wise and will make sure to try this again with more modifications - only still will use the Sherry! Grumpy said it was better the second day as he had the leftovers for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Photo by ReneePaj
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I used Johnsonville's Italian Style Chicken Sausage with Cheese to help make this chili a bit healthier. The chili was a bit too tomato-y for our tastes and quite thick prepared as written. I ended up adding some broth to loosen it up. I did add the cream sherry as directed, but still found it needed a pinch of sugar to offset the acidity of the canned tomatoes. I kicked it up a notch with some chipotle chili powder which went very well with the cocoa. If I made this again, I most likely would cut back on the amount of tomato paste and definitely add the chili powder for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneePaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
Loved this. Used hot Italian sausage since that is all I had and subbed carrots for the celery since I was out, as well as some Worcestershire sauce instead of the sherry! YUM! Will make again. I did enjoy it with the hot sausage but if I did it again would use half hot and half regular so that the kiddos would like it more! Oh, and I don't have a grill so I just chopped up the semi frozen links, cooked them a bit in a skillet while the veggies were sauteing, chopped them up a little more on my cutting board and then threw them in on top of the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Norwalk, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
This was really tasty, but I added dried, reconstituted ancho chiles. Their smoky kick complimented the cocoa nicely. Also, my tomatoes didn't have much liquid, so I added some beef broth and bourbon (hey! after all, this is football chili, right?!) Really gave the sauce an extra rich flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I have made this exactly as written at least 10 times, all I can do is rave about this, excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cajunmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Like everyone else I used a little bit of Worcestershire sauce instead of sherry. My roomates love when I make this. the Itailian stewed tomatoes make this good. If my pot was big enought I would put 4 cans of them in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Delicious!! Didn't have sherry also, used some Worcestershire sauce like a previous reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sherri1011

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
It was excellent. I couldn't find cream sherry at the local grocery store, so I used cooking sherry with a teaspoon of sugar to sweeten it up. I got rave reviews and even a few people asking for the recipe!! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Didn't have sherry so used Worcestershire sauce instead. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Johnsonville® Three Cheese Pasta Primavera

Looking for a flavorful sausage recipe without all the fat? This is it!

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States