Touchdown Italian Sausage Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by DHAEMKER
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
My family loved this recipe - I did change up this recipe just a bit. I used some italian sausage from the Italian store in Dallas, Texas Jimmy,s (amazing sausage - reminds me of my childhood), removed the sausage from the casings and made them into balls, baked them in the oven before adding them to the chili. I only used 2 cans of tomatoes, 1 can of red kidney beans, 1 can of white kidney beans, I used moscato wine in place of Sherry, added Worcestershire sauce and sugar. At the end of simmering I did add tri-color cheese tortellinis, made some garlic, herbed, cheese bread and this dish was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago Heights, Illinois, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
We liked this but I did make changes to it by adding chili and cumin powder. I also used the Jalapeno Cheese Sausage Links by Johnsonville (which are fabulous by the way!). I also reduced the amount of tomatoes by 1 can and it still seemed like a lot of diced tomatoes. Iused kidney beans instead of the white bean but only because I didn't have any. I think the Sherry is what made this stand out flavor wise and will make sure to try this again with more modifications - only still will use the Sherry! Grumpy said it was better the second day as he had the leftovers for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Photo by ReneePaj
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I used Johnsonville's Italian Style Chicken Sausage with Cheese to help make this chili a bit healthier. The chili was a bit too tomato-y for our tastes and quite thick prepared as written. I ended up adding some broth to loosen it up. I did add the cream sherry as directed, but still found it needed a pinch of sugar to offset the acidity of the canned tomatoes. I kicked it up a notch with some chipotle chili powder which went very well with the cocoa. If I made this again, I most likely would cut back on the amount of tomato paste and definitely add the chili powder for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneePaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
Loved this. Used hot Italian sausage since that is all I had and subbed carrots for the celery since I was out, as well as some Worcestershire sauce instead of the sherry! YUM! Will make again. I did enjoy it with the hot sausage but if I did it again would use half hot and half regular so that the kiddos would like it more! Oh, and I don't have a grill so I just chopped up the semi frozen links, cooked them a bit in a skillet while the veggies were sauteing, chopped them up a little more on my cutting board and then threw them in on top of the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Norwalk, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
This was really tasty, but I added dried, reconstituted ancho chiles. Their smoky kick complimented the cocoa nicely. Also, my tomatoes didn't have much liquid, so I added some beef broth and bourbon (hey! after all, this is football chili, right?!) Really gave the sauce an extra rich flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I have made this exactly as written at least 10 times, all I can do is rave about this, excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cajunmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Like everyone else I used a little bit of Worcestershire sauce instead of sherry. My roomates love when I make this. the Itailian stewed tomatoes make this good. If my pot was big enought I would put 4 cans of them in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Delicious!! Didn't have sherry also, used some Worcestershire sauce like a previous reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sherri1011

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
It was excellent. I couldn't find cream sherry at the local grocery store, so I used cooking sherry with a teaspoon of sugar to sweeten it up. I got rave reviews and even a few people asking for the recipe!! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Didn't have sherry so used Worcestershire sauce instead. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Johnsonville® Three Cheese Pasta Primavera

Looking for a flavorful sausage recipe without all the fat? This is it!

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States