Touchdown Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
This chili is amazing! I made it as written the first time and it was a bit too spicy for my kids, so the second time I omitted the chilis and then upped the brown sugar to 4 Tbsp. I browned the hamburger and cooked the onion in a skillet first and then add it and all the rest of the ingredients to a crockpot and cooked on low for at least 4 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CORINNE8

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
A major triumph at our house!!! Poured it over some pasta, a little grated cheese, sprinkled some diced jalapenos over the top,...my all time favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake George, New York, USA
Living In: Averill Park, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
I tried this recipe for the first time two weeks ago. I have made it twice now and it looks like it will be a staple in this house. Made exactly as written and my husband and dad both love it. The leftovers are put away for snacks and never last long. I make it at least once a week to keep for just that reason. My dad just can't get enough and my husband really enjoys it, too. Good as a fresh recipe, leftovers are better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I had everything I needed (except beer) to make this without a special trip to the store, so decided to make it last night to have the next day. Oh my goodness! It is sooo good! Since I didn't have beer, I added a can of V8 instead. Tried it with some shredded cheddar this morning, but will try it with spaghetti or on a hotdog later. This is definitely a keeper. Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
This was a great chili. I was looking for a good chili without beans. I didn't add the tomato and only used half the beer and only 2 tablespoons of brown sugar because 3 made it too sweet for my taste. This was great and will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I was surprised how prominent the beer was in this recipe. I thought the beer taste would cook off some; it didn't. I added chili beans as I don't consider chili to be chili without beans. This didn't pack a lot of flavor; and even though the description calls it hearty, I didn't consider this to be as hearty as other chilis. It was okay though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Wonderful recipe! I did make a little change though. I used sea salt and ended up doubling the salt, but start with the salt called for then adjust to taste, after an hour of cooking. I also put a bay leaf per 2 pounds of ground beef. I didn't use the beer, but used water in it's place and it was great that way. I also used extra lean ground beef - 93% lean, and I used about a 1/4 cup of Extra Virgin Olive Oil to brown my ground beef, onions and garlic. When you use Olive Oil and extra lean beef you have very little grease to skim when you save the left-overs in the frig! I used Lousiana Hot Sauce for my hot sauce, and it gave it a very nice warm after taste while not blisting you. Of course you can load it up with various hot sauces to turn the heat up, if you like to suffer when you eat chili! Overall, one of, if not the best chili I have eaten, PERIOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
This has become a Sunday staple. Perfect!! for Sunday night football and an enviable "leftovers" lunch during the week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mill Creek, Washington, USA
Living In: Roslyn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Needed an outstanding beans free chili recipe and couldn't find the one I usually use so I gave this a try. I'm so glad I did. I'm not even a beer fan and I found it delicious. I give it 4.5 stars! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovinghappyhome

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Used dehydrated minced garlic, left out the beer and hot sauce. My husband said it was the best chili he's ever had (and he really liked chili the way I used to make it). I left half without the beans for my daughter and added a can of kidney beans and a can of black beans to ours. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States