Touchdown Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Everyone has a different idea of chili depending on wher you were raised... For me (a Midwest girl), I did not care for this at all. That's not to say its a terrible recipe, so 3 stars. My husband (Texas) also didn't like it very well. I followed the directions. I agree with the mass majority of reviewers that the vinegar AND beer should be omitted. I only used a small Belgian lite wheat beer due to the reviews... Anyway, not every recipe is a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I wasn't looking for a beanless recipe but I came across this one and it sounded like it would be flavourful and it certainly was. I changed nothing except I added kidney beans :) It was perfect and it got rave reviews on my ice fishing trip!!! Thanks for sharing...I'm sure this one will become a family fave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Fixed this for a Seahawks/Broncos Superbowl party today. Yikes! Way too sweet! I'm trying to cook wheat free for the hubby, so used ginger ale like others had posted. That on top of the brown sugar was way too sweet! I must have added an extra 3-4 ounces of vinegar to counter it! If I make this again, I'll sacrifice the wheat and use beer... and way less brown sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Does anyone else think that 1/3 C of Chili Powder is ENTIRELY too much? My husband (who prides himself on loving spicy food) could not even eat it - much less myself. I had to add more diced tomatoes, another bottle of bear, a pound of meat plus two cans of tomato paste to even make this close to edible. It tastes great after you tone it down and I'm happy it's beanless but WHOA BABY on the chili powder AND pepper AND onion AND tabasco!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
No alcohol for this family, so went with the ginger ale alternative. This is just an amazing recipe. I always forget the simmer time, so I've had to make it in less time and it is still great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barre, Vermont, USA
Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
There was an odd, sweet flavor to the recipe. I don't know if it was the cumin or beer. I typically add brown sugar to recipes with tomatoes but the sweetness was not what I expected. I did not add the chili powder or Tabsco, however, as we do not like spicy foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morgan City, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
We make this pretty much every other week all fall and winter. My husband doesn't like beans in his chili, and this is the best beanless chili I have found. I mostly follow the recipe, except sometimes add some diced fresh peppers and 1/2 cup of canned pumpkin, then we grab a bag of fritos to complete the meal. Always make extra, since as with all chilis, this is better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Have made this twice now and it's my family's fave!!! Even my picky ones!!! Super easy and budget friendly as well!!! Not a lot of fancy expensive ingredients yet makes plenty for our family of five!!! Full of flavor!!! Just YUMMMMMM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arp22tx

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CRISPYSTUFF
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
SO GOOD! Chili is a tricky thing in our house, because the kids hate beans, so I barely make it. But it's a cold night, and the ingredients are what we had at hand. Typically of how it goes down in our house with chili, I was waiting for the moans from the kids, so I really didn't think we would like this - I mean, beer and brown sugar, really? BUT WOW! that gave it a complexity in flavor REALLY worth trying. Even my picky kids LOVED it. I did omit the hot sauce, because not everyone likes spicy, BUT who cares?! It's still delish! I served it on top of a bowl of rice, top off with sour cream and a sprinkle of cheese. Voila! Don't hesitate! Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRISPYSTUFF

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Was searching for a no bean chili recipe to take to a party when I ran across this. I used MGD beer, doubled the recipe and used one can chopped chiles and one can chopped jalepenos (because that's what I had on hand) and put it in a slow cooker after the meat was done. I was concerned at first because it made so much but, by the end of the evening, folks were literally scraping what they could from the bottom of the crock pot! They were using it as hot dog sauce, taco salad meat, any way they could think of to eat it! Everyone said this was the best chili they'd ever eaten and I agree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barboursville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Chili

See how to mix up a big ol’ pot of chili—in just 99 seconds!

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States