Touchdown Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
My husband doubled the recipe and made it for a tailgate party and it was gone before halftime! The perfect combination of sweet and heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evance10461

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hoglymogly
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
First time making this and it came out amazing. I did take Kim's recommendations and substituted 1 lb of the beef with 1 lb of pork sausage along with the pumpkin puree in for the tomato sauce. I removed the vinegar and used Sapporo beer (rice beer), thanks kandygirl. I also lessened the chili powder amount to 1/4 cup and add a bit of cinnamon due to my love of Cincinnati chili. It finished not 5 minutes ago and I couldn't have asked for a better chili. This alteration of the recipe is good for those that can't take a lot of heat but love enough of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Living In: Scappoose, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Very good with minor adjustments. I omitted the hot sauce & brown sugar (figured correctly that it was sweet enough once cooked overtime), used 1/2 the salt and used fresh anaheim chilies (cooked with the onions). Family LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I gave this chili recipe a try and really enjoyed it. My daughter has never really been a big fan of any chili recipe, but she likes this one. I had some chili leftover and used it when making chili dogs one night and they were a hit as well. It is now my "go to" chili recipe. Thank you. Oh, I left out the hot sauce. Other than that, I followed your recipe to the letter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by claudell1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
I had to make a few changes, due to personal taste and reading other reviews. I used 1/4 c. ancho chili powder, and that was enough for us. I subbed Mexican oregano for basil. I used fire roasted tomatoes, and subbed water for beer and agave for sugar. I added 1 Tbs. beef soup base instead of the hot sauce, salt and black pepper. This makes a beefy tasting, beanless, rich chili, with a bit of heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I can't say enough good things about this recipe! I've already made it twice and plan on making it again this week, most likely a double batch this time! Soooo good. I honestly never thought I'd find a beanless chili that I liked, but this recipe really holds it's own. It's awesome Fall comfort food! I substitute a package of Johnsonville Ground Sweet Italian Sausage for half of the ground beef. Also I use water rather than beer and leave out the vinegar. WONDERFUL WONDERFUL recipe!!! The Italian sausage really makes it, I definitely recommend the substitution!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I too can't stand beans, but love chili. I found this recipe to be fantastic. The only thing i changed was i added a few jalapenos to the green chiles. That's simply because i personally like a little more heat. Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I was skeptical but this recipe went over well so it's a keeper! I didn't add the vinegar or the brown sugar either as we prefer more savory than sweet. The kids especially like it because it is not too spicy for kids and it doesn't have beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
We left out the chiles because I honestly never buy them ... our kids don't care for added spiciness. We sadly have a bean allergy in the family so I need a beanless chili recipe on hand. This one is very yummy. I did substitute pork broth for the beer, and might take the chili powder down to 1/4c next time. Thanks for the recipe - a good one is hard to find without beans as an ingredient!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I tried this recipe but dabbled with it myself and omitted the tobacco sauce and green chiles, but added (to the frying meat) mushrooms, bell pepper, and sweet red pepper. I then added to the soup half a can of rotell tomatoes. Was GREAT for me, but family said the brown sugar made it a bit too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States