Touchdown Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
My hubby loves this! My changes: 1# ground beef, 1# ground pork; no vinegar; 1 bay leaf; 1 can Bush's chili beans (hubby's request). BTW, I haven't told him the 'secret ingredient' is beer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
I cooked it exactly like the recipe except that I didn't let it simmer for 3 hours. I'm sure it would have been even better if I had. I have been looking for a flavorful chili recipe for awhile and love this one. I have gotten several compliments on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
This is a great recipe for bean-less chili! I made it as written except used beef broth instead of beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Everyone has a different idea of chili depending on wher you were raised... For me (a Midwest girl), I did not care for this at all. That's not to say its a terrible recipe, so 3 stars. My husband (Texas) also didn't like it very well. I followed the directions. I agree with the mass majority of reviewers that the vinegar AND beer should be omitted. I only used a small Belgian lite wheat beer due to the reviews... Anyway, not every recipe is a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I wasn't looking for a beanless recipe but I came across this one and it sounded like it would be flavourful and it certainly was. I changed nothing except I added kidney beans :) It was perfect and it got rave reviews on my ice fishing trip!!! Thanks for sharing...I'm sure this one will become a family fave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Fixed this for a Seahawks/Broncos Superbowl party today. Yikes! Way too sweet! I'm trying to cook wheat free for the hubby, so used ginger ale like others had posted. That on top of the brown sugar was way too sweet! I must have added an extra 3-4 ounces of vinegar to counter it! If I make this again, I'll sacrifice the wheat and use beer... and way less brown sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Does anyone else think that 1/3 C of Chili Powder is ENTIRELY too much? My husband (who prides himself on loving spicy food) could not even eat it - much less myself. I had to add more diced tomatoes, another bottle of bear, a pound of meat plus two cans of tomato paste to even make this close to edible. It tastes great after you tone it down and I'm happy it's beanless but WHOA BABY on the chili powder AND pepper AND onion AND tabasco!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
No alcohol for this family, so went with the ginger ale alternative. This is just an amazing recipe. I always forget the simmer time, so I've had to make it in less time and it is still great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barre, Vermont, USA
Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
There was an odd, sweet flavor to the recipe. I don't know if it was the cumin or beer. I typically add brown sugar to recipes with tomatoes but the sweetness was not what I expected. I did not add the chili powder or Tabsco, however, as we do not like spicy foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morgan City, Louisiana, USA
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
We make this pretty much every other week all fall and winter. My husband doesn't like beans in his chili, and this is the best beanless chili I have found. I mostly follow the recipe, except sometimes add some diced fresh peppers and 1/2 cup of canned pumpkin, then we grab a bag of fritos to complete the meal. Always make extra, since as with all chilis, this is better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

How to Make Chili

See how to mix up a big ol’ pot of chili—in just 99 seconds!

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States