Touchdown Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
I searched for bean-less chili because my husband is not of fan of "regular" chili and came across this recipe. It was well received! First of all, if you're making this alone, the prep time is longer (but that could also be I'm not a wizard in the kitchen). It took me about an hour to get it all put together by myself. No big deal since I set aside time on the weekend to do it. I followed the recipe to the letter. Instead of simmering on the stove, I put it in a crock pot and let it simmer. We have a gas stove and I was a little paranoid of letting an open flame just sit for 3 hours. :-) Honestly, it tasted better the second day. I'm guessing the various flavors had a chance to really soak in. Overall, this recipe was great and I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Guice

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I loved this recipe! I made some for a school function and this one was gone long before there was a dent in the other three crock pots of chili! I made it with Shiner Bock beer. It was best after simmering for hours. It took about a recipe and a half to fill the crock pot. I couldn't find the can of green chilis, so I used a can of Rotel instead. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
My husband doubled the recipe and made it for a tailgate party and it was gone before halftime! The perfect combination of sweet and heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evance10461

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hoglymogly
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
First time making this and it came out amazing. I did take Kim's recommendations and substituted 1 lb of the beef with 1 lb of pork sausage along with the pumpkin puree in for the tomato sauce. I removed the vinegar and used Sapporo beer (rice beer), thanks kandygirl. I also lessened the chili powder amount to 1/4 cup and add a bit of cinnamon due to my love of Cincinnati chili. It finished not 5 minutes ago and I couldn't have asked for a better chili. This alteration of the recipe is good for those that can't take a lot of heat but love enough of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Living In: Scappoose, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Very good with minor adjustments. I omitted the hot sauce & brown sugar (figured correctly that it was sweet enough once cooked overtime), used 1/2 the salt and used fresh anaheim chilies (cooked with the onions). Family LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I gave this chili recipe a try and really enjoyed it. My daughter has never really been a big fan of any chili recipe, but she likes this one. I had some chili leftover and used it when making chili dogs one night and they were a hit as well. It is now my "go to" chili recipe. Thank you. Oh, I left out the hot sauce. Other than that, I followed your recipe to the letter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by claudell1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
I had to make a few changes, due to personal taste and reading other reviews. I used 1/4 c. ancho chili powder, and that was enough for us. I subbed Mexican oregano for basil. I used fire roasted tomatoes, and subbed water for beer and agave for sugar. I added 1 Tbs. beef soup base instead of the hot sauce, salt and black pepper. This makes a beefy tasting, beanless, rich chili, with a bit of heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I can't say enough good things about this recipe! I've already made it twice and plan on making it again this week, most likely a double batch this time! Soooo good. I honestly never thought I'd find a beanless chili that I liked, but this recipe really holds it's own. It's awesome Fall comfort food! I substitute a package of Johnsonville Ground Sweet Italian Sausage for half of the ground beef. Also I use water rather than beer and leave out the vinegar. WONDERFUL WONDERFUL recipe!!! The Italian sausage really makes it, I definitely recommend the substitution!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I too can't stand beans, but love chili. I found this recipe to be fantastic. The only thing i changed was i added a few jalapenos to the green chiles. That's simply because i personally like a little more heat. Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I was skeptical but this recipe went over well so it's a keeper! I didn't add the vinegar or the brown sugar either as we prefer more savory than sweet. The kids especially like it because it is not too spicy for kids and it doesn't have beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States