Totally Tangy Baked French Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
We love this recipe so much that is a regular in our house (though we leave out the cayenne). We dice the potatoes, cook covered in the microwave for 10 minutes, stir, cook another 10 minutes, and they're perfect....cuts the cooking time by more than half!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
Pretty good! The tanginess wasn't quite there and the spiciness could actually be upped a few notches for me. I had to leave them in for a few extra minutes to make sure they were crispy. Better with melted cheese on it, especially pepper jack. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Mine never got crispy, so I put them under the broiler for a few minutes before serving. I wouldn't describe these as tangy as much as I would spicy (hot wise), but I enjoyed the flavor regardless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
OMG Good!! I talked hubby into letting me do the oven fries and he said I'll do them this way from now on. We cut steak fries & followed the recipe except I did use garlic powder instead of fresh, and added grill seasoning instead of s/p. Wonderful with our Tangy Pork Sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
I like spicy and these were really spicy. I always prefer to make the dish as per the recipe directions at least the first time, then make any changes if neccesary. These fries were just a little too spicy for me, so next time I make them I will cut down on the hot spice. I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
convection bake with stoneware, the french fries come out tops and you can cut cooking time in half (about 20 minutes)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlena Ledgerwood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
I used red potatos sliced into steak-fries with the skins left on (use an onion-blossom slicer for super-quick steak fries) decreased the oil until just barely enough to get to seasoning to stick, and baked on stoneware on 450-degrees for 15 minutes each side. Many reviewers had problems with the cook time listed not giving them the texture they wanted. I found my steak-fries were crispy on the outside, soft in the center at 450 and 15 min each side. I served with a dollop of sour cream and sprinkling of cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GestaltCasey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sidney, Ohio, USA
Living In: Richwood, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
My whole family and church loved these! Great to make with the kids. My 12 year old makes them alone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stormy Gayle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gillette, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
I LEFT OUT THE CAYENNE PEPPER BECAUSE OF THE OTHER REVIEWS SAYING IT WAS TOO SPICY. I DIDNT WANT IT TO BE TOO HOT FOR MY KIDS. WILL MAKE AGAIN. THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Photo by erindelight
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
Really good - loved the tangy flavor! I didn't have lime so I used vinager and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erindelight

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Fries I

See the tasty way to make baked French fries.

Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries

These fries stay crispy even reheated in the microwave!

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States