Totally Tangy Baked French Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
These were really good. They are spicy so if you don't like it spicy reduce the cayenne pepper to half. My family loved them. I kept the peeling on because we like them better that way. Used cooking spray (not a part of the recipe) on the potatoe slices before coating them, but after looking up the true calories and fat in cooking spray and all the other horrible stuff that in it, next time will not use. Google how much fat is in cooking spray, and you will stay clear of it. They can get away with how much fat and calories is really in cooking spray by making the serving size 1/3 of a second spray which is less than a gram and incrediably unrealistic, so they can say zero calories and fat. Has about the same fat content as olive oil, which is healthier with Omega 3's and doesn't have all the chemicals thats in cooking spray. Was a real enlightening bit of info for me. Hope this helps others who really care about what goes into their bodies. Anyways thanks you amanda1432 for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
They turned out ok, but I didn't like the taste of the sauce very much. I baked them for 10 more minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Very good! Melted sharp cheddar cheese over them and served with ranch dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janice Bennett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Made these per original recipe...FABULOUS!! Did use previous reviewer's tip & turned on broiler for last few minutes. Served with Valerie's Special Sauce from this site...absolutely yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AFWife88

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
All the adults really enjoyed these, although MUCH too spicy for the kids. I didn't add any red pepper flakes, so I'm surprised how spicy these were (and I like to think we have a pretty high spice tolerance)... All in all, I will definitely make again, but cut down even more on the the spicy stuff so my kids can also enjoy. Yum! I liked 'em dipped in mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Really like this! Line baking sheet with crumpled foil first. And I don't really measure I just sprinkle until it tastes good. EDIT: Another reviewer suggested baking on stoneware. I will try my new pizza stone this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Handful

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ada, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Great recipe. I like my potatoes crispy so I would cook at least another 15 minutes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
These were pretty good. I would make again for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pekin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Minooka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Used BBQ Sauce instead of mustard
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Justine
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
These were really tasty! After reading some suggestions I cut the cayenne by half because my 6 year old son was eating them with us. I also used garlic powder instead of minced cloves. After about 25 minutes in the over I flipped them over and put them back in for 5 more minutes. I then switched the broiler on for about 5 more minutes. I WILL be making these again! 5 STARS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked French Fries I

See the tasty way to make baked French fries.

Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries

These fries stay crispy even reheated in the microwave!

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States