Totally Rye Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Just finished making this and I wish I had read the reviews before I did. Did not rise hardly at all but I baked it anyway and it is not edible. Did not use all the flour as many have said, closer to 5-1/2 cups. I would also recommend using double the yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Way too dense, it never rose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Use whole milk or else add 3-4 Tbsp of white or brown sugar for the part where you dissolve the yeast. 1/2% to 2% milk isn't going to have the sugar content needed for the yeast and take away from the flavor that milk is intended to add. Other recipes called for molasses and sugar. For those not gluten sensitive, add 1 TBSP of wheat gluten for every cup of rye flour for the dough to hold together better during the rise and not leaking out all the CO2. With this having 3 rise periods, the salt is vitally important to keep the yeast at bay and not fizzling out too quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
The ratios are off. I baked professionally for 7 years and the amount of yeast used for this type of flour is WAY off. I made the recipe as described because of the mixed reviews and the loaves barely rose. Also I couldn't tell if the milk is intended to be scorched (some call for that) or just brought up to temp/ increase the sugars for the yeast. Either way the milk and yeast did not rise ( the yeast is good - i just made rolls yesterday.) Also - 1 Tablespoon of salt!!! I used 2/3 of a T and the dough is very salty. I ended up using 4 cups plus a little for the board, should have at least doubled the yeast, and next time will proof the yeast before adding to the milk and use only one teaspoon of salt. The loaves are baking now. I'll edit and update if they are inedible .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
I followed the directions perfectly. I'm used to dense breads. I LIKE dense breads. This mess didn't raise at all. A complete mess. I was very upset. I had to drive over 150 miles round trip just to buy rye flour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This came out fine.. a little dense but great flavor. I was hesistant because of the reviews but tried it anyway. Did not use all 7 cups of flour, used about 5 1/2. Did not rise like I thought it should, hence the dense loaf but my yeast did not bubble a lot in the milk either so will try again with different yeast. Thx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
I tried this recipe because I need to find a fructose-free/fructan-free bread for my son's health condition, so it cannot contain wheat. At first, I assumed the failure each time was due to me altering the recipe to try fructose-free sweeteners. After testing my yeast (it was fine), and after four failed batches, I tried the recipe exactly as written. Same failure. I used just 6 cups of flour, but it just can't rise. It makes a crumbly-textured product that tastes okay, but isn't anything like "bread". Ugh. I wasted so much time. If reducing the flour by 1-1/2 cups still can't make a dough that the yeast can budge, then there's something wrong with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This is an easy great recipe for only rye flour. So many people are alergic to wheat these days. The comment about two much flour, I used about 6 cups, if you wanted to use all flour of course you would add more moisture. That's not rocket science to work that out. Flours differ so much. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
Doesn't require the full amount of flour listed in the ingredient list, if you follow the directions just right where it says "may not need the rest of the flour" it comes out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
The best whole rye flour bread that I have ever made. It stays moist and fresh for days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States