Totally Groovy Chocolate Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
This recipe was easy and great! I added more cream than it calls for, and used half milk chocolate and half dark chocolate and it was delicious and creamy. The cinnamon is a nice touch! The perfect dessert to end a Valentine's Day dinner :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
This was really good, but the coffee favor was quite strong. Next time I think we'll use 1/2 the amount the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
We loved this. It is simple to whip together - I had my 12 year old in charge of its creation. We used blackberry brandy. The coffee is a perfect compliment to the sweetness of the milk chocolate, and the consistency was just right for fondue dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This had a great flavor and it was easy to make! My only thought was that you really had to keep stiring this dip to keep it from hardening. I did not use the brandy because I did not have any on hand, instead I followed the recipe exactly and added an additional 2 tbsp of the heavy cream to make up for the brandy that was left out. I will definitely make this again! I served this with strawberries, pretzels, and marshmellows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newchefgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Really great with rice crispie treats also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
We made 3 different chocolate fondue recipes from this site. This was THE BEST! I did add more cream and a little more brandy. Very good! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maliforte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
I think the key here is to cook on very low heat (no higher than low-medium), and to stir constantly - this will help the chocolate smooth out perfectly, and not chunk up and burn. Adding too much liquid definetly alters the flavor and structure of the chocolate - using oils makes the chocolate runny, using milk will make the chocolate sticky (and sometimes milk will prevent the chocolate from hardening properly for making chocolate covered fruit). I use Lindt chocolates, they're expensive but good. In my experience, most chocolates melt perfectly when given the time to do so, and without additives like liquor or cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
This was sooooo good. Everyone was stuffed after my dinner party and didn't want dessert...until I brought this out. 6 people ate almost all of this! I used 3 tablespoons regular brandy and 2 teaspoons maraschino cherry juice since I didn't have cherry brandy. 6 tablespoons of heavy cream and a bit more cinnamon than the recipe called for. They all thought I used an expensive chocolate. I told them it was French chocolate...Nestle, LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leon, Iowa, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
I hate leaving low marks for a recipe, but I just couldn't get this one to work right. I suspect the addition of the coffee may be the cuprit since there's water in it. Each time I've tried this recipe, the smooth, glossy chocolate becomes grainy and unusable (for fondu, at least. Thank God for brownies). I'm going to try one last time soon, leaving out the coffee and then maybe I can redo the rating. EDIT: Redoing the rating. This recipe works better with no coffee. It causes the chocolate to seize up. I'm sure the coffee flavor could be had with coffee liquor or extract instead, but don't use the real thing unless you like wasting ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Made this on Valentines Day. Huge hit with all. I just used regular brandy -- and it tasted great. Served with the usual fruits, but included dried pineapple. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lons65

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pike Creek, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States