Tostones (Twice Fried Green Plantains) with Mayo-Ketchup Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Just the way I remember them! Mayoketchup is the best!! Just like she said, find the balance between mayo and ketchup that will work best for you. I don't measure it, just add and test until it is right for me. I love garlic so I add lots of it. Thank you, LatinaCook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Wow so delicious. The first time I made it perfectly. The second time I didn't have the oil hot enough. Make sure you do otherwise the oil soaks into the plantains and you've got nasty moosh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ange82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
These are pretty good, in my family we ate them with refried beans and a little cheese...but the mayoketchup is a quite nice turn, thank u :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Yes I luv them, as I'm Puerto Rican....Major side dish for me....uymmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chichi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Just like in my Puerto Rico!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pete

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stuart, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
This is fabulous! My Jamaican side is ashamed that I din't know about this recipe before! I've made it several times now. I'm completely addicted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Where have these been all my life? I love them! My wife, who doesn't like the taste or texture of banana loved them too. I made a chipotle yogurt sauce for them, so I can comment on the Mayoketchup with these, but I do like it with french fries. Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clint

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Love, love these with fried chicken. I've never used the mayo/ketchup sauce, will definitely try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
This is very popular in Puerto Rico. Goes very well with roast pork. Dipping sauce can also be made with pressed garlic and melted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Mayaguez, Mayaguez, Puerto Rico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States