Tostones (Fried Plantains) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 22, 2007
I used green plantains & butter vs. oil. They turned out perfect! Also, I had no wax paper, so I just pressed each slice between 2 plates to smash them. Sprinkled with course salt. Mixed together ketchup, lime, mayo, & 2 sliced/toasted cloves of garlic for a dipping sauce. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
I really just wanted to find out the calorie count for this but then read the other ratings. I am puerto rican and this is a part of just about every meal so naturally I find them deicious. Sometimes for more flavor I will use garlic mojo. For someone who wants a sweet plantain, there are maduros which can only be made with ripe plantains and they are not crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
These are soooo yummy and really easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
great side! I use season salt instead of garlic powder, though. Make sure you mash 'em good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
Cool, I am so impressed that I was able to make these, thank you because I wanted to and had no idea how, thanks so much. Oh, and they were really good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NC baking girl

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
These are delicious with a mojito made with garlic crushed in a pilon, chopped cilantro, olive oil and salt to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
My uncle is from Columbia and used to make these for us. But, he served them sweet. They were really yummy like this, though. Served them with black beans and rice. Definitely use the ketchup with garlic in it for dipping--I am looking forward to having this dish again tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keene, Texas, USA
Living In: Clifton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
I had no idea plantains were so good...my husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our meal with the plantains as an accompaniment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
Wonderful! I made a sauce with ketsup, mayo, lemon juice and garlic powder to dip them in. I served it with a spicy black beans and rice dish recipe I got from a friend. My husband couldn't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aphrodite Sauser

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
these taste just like the ones I had at cuban restaurant. I served these with the mojo marinade for "grilled mojo chicken with asparagus" on this site. The mojo makes a great dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chalfont, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Weymouth Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Sweet Plantains

See how to make fried sweet plantains.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States