Tostones (Fried Plantains) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
I did not like this. I was expectng it to taste like a bannana. I never had Plantains so maybe thats why I don't like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
I wanted to try these for so long, (I'm a banana freak) but held off because the deep frying part I wasn't too keen on. Well, then I started to wonder how pan frying would work out. No one is going to believe me, but it's actually possible to fry 3 plantains in about 2 TB of oil! They still end up marvelous and are so much better. Try it, I'm sure you'll be amazed that you don't have to use so much oil. First off you save a lot of oil, secondly it's so much healthier. To do it, it's essential that the oil doesn't spread out in the pan and instead just stays in a little pool. That way, when you plop the slices of plantain into the pool of oil, they're still completely covered by oil on all sides, mimicking deep frying. I prefer thicker slices of plantains cause then they end up crispy on the edges and soft in the middle at the same time, exactly like french fries. In fact, the whole time I was eating them I could have sworn that I was eating french fries! I loved them with salt and ketchup and next I'm trying them with sugar. Such an awesome snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
I use green plantains and fry them in corn oil fresh garlic instead of powdered and they are delicious.Also with a side of a mayo,ketchup and garlic sauce they are incredible!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I hate to be the only one not to give 5 stars, but these were pretty bland unless you use a lot of salt and garlic, they definitely need a sauce. My son and hubby thought they just tasted like potato. I'll need to compare nutrition info to fries but prob wont cook these again since they're fried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
This was awesome....only thing I did different was put a couple garlic cloves and some butter in the oil and cooked for a little while before adding the Plantains. These remind me the Plantains I had while visiting Porto Rico. If you decide to add garlic cloves be sure and remove before adding the plantains. Thanks for this wonderful recipe, will make these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKYBLUE1963

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonner Springs, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
These are delicious. This was the first time I have ever made these and my kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pembroke, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Yum. This was very easy to pull off! I didn't do anything differently. My green plantains had turned yellow. I'm not sure if green is better, but the sweet taste paired with garlic powder and salt was heaven for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Apple Jacks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I used green plantians and canola oil--I had these in a Cuban resturant once and was blown away. These are quite yummy, and surprisingly EASY to make. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DrSteggy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Franklin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Belleville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
I've had these in Miami and also made them with my spanish class a long long time ago and was happy to find this recipe again here.....I did make a few changes to make this like the fried plantains my boyfriend had when he was in jamaica. I fried them in peanut oil and used Seasoned Salt and just a tiny tiny bit of cayenne pepper to season them. Next time I might do a touch of flour with that same seasoning. It was very very good and the cayenne added just that extra season I think it needed. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Kristy~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bainbridge, Ohio, USA
Living In: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
I am addicted! I did fry them in butter for the health benifits. They are really terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Sweet Plantains

See how to make fried sweet plantains.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States