Tostones (Fried Plantains) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
I agree with using ripe plantains, and no seasoning . Dip in guacamole .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Love these. Great side dish for almost any dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laureenaonline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Made these tonight!! It was a huge hit with my 3 year old niece and my 7 year old. I did NOT deep fry the plantains, I lightly (pan) fried them in 1/4 cup of olive oil. After double frying them, I sprinkled them with kosher salt, garlic powder and smoked paprika. I will be making these again. Thank you for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coconutz26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Had these at my first Cuban restaurant visit and they were delicious! Thanks for this GREAT and EASY recipe! This was hubby's first taste and he was looking for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Litchfield, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Love these as good as ones we had in Puerto Rico Yum I did season with salt and a little cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
EXCELLENT! I made this to pair with the Slow Cooker Tropical chicken dish, and the tostones were he star of the show. Most helpful advice I can give is when you smash the fried plantain in the wax paper, sprinkle the salt and garlc powder on the bottom, then on top and then smash. Othewise the garlic and salt doesn't really stick to the plantain and will just burn off in the oil. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Delicious! However, when I drained the slices on paper towels, they stuck to the paper and I was unable to peel off the paper from many of them. I fried the plantains in butter instead of vegetable oil...maybe that was the problem - or maybe my brand of paper towel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
These reminded me of my grandmother's cooking. My family loves them and I like that they are a fast and easy side for TexMex dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wenonah, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Thank you! I am white and my husband is Dominican. I wanted to surprise him with a little taste of home and this recipe was a life saver! Easy and delicious. Cannot thank you enough :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Sweet Plantains

See how to make fried sweet plantains.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States