Tostones (Fried Plantains) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2000
These are delicious. I served them with a dinner of veggie burritos and black beans with home made guacamole. I had read elsewhere that soaking the incredibly starchy, sticky rounds in water first was a good idea, and I did that. Seemed to remove some of the stickiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2002
This is exactly how I make mine with a few exceptions. Just for safety reasons, I would not dip the tostone in water then return to oil, can cause severe grease splattering. Also, I mince fresh garlice and at the end of frying the tostones, I take some of the hot oil, 2-3 tablespoons and poor over garlic which cooks it a bit and use the garlic as a topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
I made these tonight, they came out perfectly fine. I must warn the first timers that tostones are not sweet they are rather BLAND and need a good sauce to jazz them up. It is a good recipe if you like them, I tried them cause I had them a few times before but could take it or leave it. A helpful idea might be to use half ripened plantains or slightly ripe at least. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sangre Grande, Sangre Grande, Trinidad And Tobago
Living In: Hempstead, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
My mother makes this receipe once a month. The "dip" we use is ketchup and mayonnaise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2005
These were delicious!!!! Irresistible! I scaled this down to 2 servings because i only had one plantain, which had just turned yellow.It's best to use a ripe plantain because the green ones will be bland. When they were finished, i also sprinkled some paprika on them. They were so delicious, i ate 6 of them before i knew it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2Yung2Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
Mmmm! These are great! A Puerto Rican friend of mine taught me how to make a dipping sauce (consisting of crushed garlic and ketchup) to go along with these! They're still great plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
These were outstanding! Soooo delicious!! My husband helped make these (he's a Tostone expert). We topped them with the garlic powder and coarse sea salt. Served them with Brazilian Chicken with Coconut Milk from this site...that was yummy too, but these were definitely the best part of the meal! Try these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
Very easy to make. Delicious to dip in a cuban garlic sauce. I guess you can basically have with whatever sauce you like. They do burn easily, so watch them carefully! Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
Just remember... for tostones plantains need to be very green.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
these taste just like the ones I had at cuban restaurant. I served these with the mojo marinade for "grilled mojo chicken with asparagus" on this site. The mojo makes a great dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chalfont, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Weymouth Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Sweet Plantains

See how to make fried sweet plantains.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States