Tostones (Fried Plantains) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
As a Latina I need to clarify for everyone the types of fried plaintains because a lot of people are getting it all confused. There's TOSTONES which you fry using green plaintains. Cut them staight down into 1 inch circles & then proceed with above recipe.Use the bottom of a mug to mash.These are salty & usually with some garlic in a bit of oil. THEN there's PLATANOS which you cook with ripe or yellow plaintain. Those you slice sideways and pan fry untill golden brown. These are the sweet kind. Hope this helps everyone. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
474 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
they turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
These are very simple to make. Our family loves this snack treat. We pick yellowish plantains that are beginning to turn black because they are sweeter. I just slice them at an angle to make oval like slices and fry them to a nice golden brown. Right after removal, while still on a paper towel, sprinkle just a bit of table salt to taste. Best eaten warm and alone on a long car ride or along with a meal like pork chops with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
These were tasty, but time consuming and messy to clean up. I used garlic salt instead of garlic powder. The tostones were gobbled up immediately, so 5 stars even though they took a lot of time and effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
We're trying to be heart healthy in our family. I omitted the oil and salt and sprayed the plantains with non-fat cooking spray before sprinkling on the garlic powder. Then I sprayed our outdoor grill basket and cooked the plantains at about 350 degrees for about 3-5 minutes per side (until they were golden brown). I was surprised they were delicious (but healthier than traditional tostones).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
This was my first time making these. My husband did like them but he wanted a moister plantain. The ones we've had in restaurants seemed to have a glaze of some kind. These were good though and certainly easy enough. Just want to check out a few more versions .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
Makes a great replacement for chips with your sandwich
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
I was positive I'd love these. I didn't. I think it was personal preference, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Horseheads, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
Very bland tasting. I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy9216

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
Great recipe! If you do not have the wax paper, just use the bottom of a coffee cup to smash them and continue frying. Also try these with honey on top or with a bit of olive oil and coarse sea salt to dip them in! Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Newrleanz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Sweet Plantains

See how to make fried sweet plantains.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States