Tostones (Fried Plantains) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
Wonderful, but I would suggest cooking them a bit longer during the first go round so they aren't too raw and crumbly when you smash them. Other than that, they were very similar to what I had in Ecuador. Amazing, even w/o the garlic powder and salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I used green plantains, which I understood to be the correct ones for tostones and they were so goooood! I used a some garlic in the oil and seasoned with salt. I never had one before and I can't wait to make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
First of all, these are not tostones, these are platanos fritos. The difference is tostones are green plantains that are fried and smashed and then refried again, sprinkle some adobo on it and fua!!! Fried plantains are when they are yellow, soft and sweet. You frie them from side to side and they stay soft, eat it sprinkled with cinammon or even as is and you have a side dish good for everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
oh my gosh, 2 cups of oil for 3 plantains?Lordy. Anyhow I made with less grease using Saflower oil and they are good .Plantains are anything but bland, people .You just need to sprinkle salt when they first come out pan. Garlic butter sauce makes great dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovelymeal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
This is a perfect treat served with cream cheese! For the sweetest (best) flavor, your plantains should be completely ripe - skin should be black!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Yum! Simple and easy but delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
These are soooooo good! They WILL be greasy but that's why you pat them with paper towels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frida Loves

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
I'm sure my techniques need some work, since this is an unfamiliar dish to me, but I personally found these greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Alice Springs, Northern Territory, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mallinda
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I have never eaten tostones, or plantains in any way, and just wanted the experience. They are easy to make and appear to have turned out the way they're supposed to. I have to agree with other reviewers that there isn't much taste, but the crunch is nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
These are ok like like this, however, My family is puerto rican and I have grown up on these when made with overly ripe plantains. This gives them a sweet instead of bland taste. I don't season them with anything and just use a little butter so that they don't stick to the pan. Made this way I give them a 5 star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Sweet Plantains

See how to make fried sweet plantains.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States