Tossed Romaine and Orange Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I loved it! I used a fresh orange instead. And I added some spring salad mix. So yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Got compliments on the almonds. I cut back by half the amount of mandarin oranges. This would make a nice lunch salad if you added chicken. Delicious salad, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
Really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Decent, easy, and healthy, though somewhat boring. Added feta which rounded out the flavor and gave it a little more interest. Would make again if I needed to do something fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heathertup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Light, refreshing, not a heavy dressing. Doesn't stick to the lettuce but that's ok. I think it's perfect with a heavy meal because of the lightness. We had beef stew and I served this and thought it balanced nicely with the stew. I also did not think it was too tart. I guess if one wanted to thicken it up a bit, that would help it cling better but I really don't think I would. Salad needs to be eaten soon after the dressing is poured over the salad and toss quickly and serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Great salad! I cut back on the number of servings and added a bit of garlic and dijon mustard to the dressing. I added sliced some thin sliced red onion and some leftover citrus grilled chicken. This was very light and perfect for a quick lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Great salad -- light and refreshing tho I only used about 1/4 of the dressing. Was a big hit for Thanksgiving. I added 1 can of hearts of palm which was a nice compliment. Also used mandarin oranges packed in water. I think a good add would be some herb to give the dressing a bit more kick, but don't know what that would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
The dressing was good but came out a little thin. I had a hard time getting it to stick to the lettuce. I also like a little more bite so added more red wine vinegar. Overall a good recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
I made the dressing exactly how the recipe says too, but found the flavor to be much to vinegary. Let's say way too vinegary. Bc of that, I tweaked the recipe by adding about a tablespoon of sugar and half the juice from the mandarin orange can. With that change it was much sweeter, yet still a vinaigrette! Yum yum! My husband liked it with grilled, sliced chicken over his and said he'd definitely eat it again. Maybe next time more fruit--strawberries? Blueberries? Pineapple? Might give it that extra punch it needs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Yum-E! I threw in some left over grilled salmon and some thinly sliced onion and celery and it was a meal for my husband & me. Think I'll try to use less water when I reconstitute my orange juice to punch up the orange flavor a little & maybe add a tad more vinegar because I like the "sour." Agree, it is a little watery and wouldn't keep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hurst, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Hearts of Romaine

Watch Chef John grill lettuce. It’s delicious and ready in a flash!

Spinach and Strawberry Salad

Mix the colors and flavors of summer and enjoy.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States