Toscana Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Since trying this recipe, we have made it dozens of times this year. Being from the South, I use chopped collard greens in place of the kale. (The frozen collards are perfect in a pinch). This is a simply terrific soup. Great for a chilly day, even better for leftovers, if you can get lucky enough to have some left over. Thanks for the recipe, it is a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
This soup is so awesome. I love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Made this with some changes as other reviews...used four cups chicken broth...tbls red pepper flakes...four potatoes ...two cloves if garlic minced...one Tbls parsley..parmesan and cornstarch to thicken...so good and recipe is.going in the recipe box and will be making this often..thanks so much for the recipe :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry, H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pembroke, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by traceyposner
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
This is one of my favorite recipes on this whole site. I used to be a BIG fan of going to a certain restaurant because of this soup. I would always end up getting the soup, salad and breadsticks there just for this soup! Once I found this recipe and started making it myself, I have not had an urge to return to that restaurant. This is so much better than the restaurant version, and you can control all of the ingredients you put into it to make it your own. I, however, stick pretty much to the recipe as written. I ALWAYS use Johnsonville Italian Sausage in my soup. That is one thing I never substitute. It just tastes the best out of all of the sausages on the market. I have used both the links and the ground and I prefer the ground in this dish. You can go spicy, mild, or sweet with it according to your tastes. I mostly go with the mild unless I will be serving it to my husband, which then I will use the spicy sausage. I will also use milk or half and half in place of the cream simply because I never have cream in my fridge. Other than that, it is exactly as written. It is delicious! The only problem with this soup is my own self control! I have to make myself stop eating it :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
This is REALLY good. Tastes just like the restaurant soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
I would give it more stars if I could! This is my number one soup in the winter. Always comes out perfect. Spicy sausage a bit much sometimes for my kids so I usually mix 1/2 mild, 1/2 spicy. I add more kale too just because it's the only time my kids will eat kale. this is my go to dish if I have people over, always a hit and so, so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Very authentic. My super picky nephew gobbled it up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
We doubled it for our family of 5. I loved the amount of sausage and the addition of bacon was a great touch. We used precooked chicken apple sausage and it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by esme1701
Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I followed all of the directions, but the potatoes came out too hard. The soup tasted bland until I looked at the reviews. Then I added chicken broth, red pepper flakes, salt, pepper, and Parmesan cheese. It tasted a bit better but I still didn't like it that much. I only used 4 sausage links though compared to 12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifertse10

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Super Delicious Zuppa Toscana

A rich soup made with sausage, potatoes, fresh spinach, and cream.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States