Toscana Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Nikki Stivers Boyce
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
First couple of times I made this as is. WONDERFUL! Third time I got more daring and made some changes, mostly because I had some stuff I wanted to et rid off. Cannellini beans really set this top! Zucchini is good in it too. I also browned some ground Italian sausage and added..MMMM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki Stivers Boyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Golden, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
This soup was so tasty! I used bulk sweet Italian sausage and just browned it in the pot rather than baking it separately. The flavor was great, but I can see how it would be even better with spicy Italian sausage. My 2.5 year old wouldn't necessarily agree - so for now my husband's making due by stirring some tapatio in to his soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I used whole milk instead of heavy cream to make it lighter and this turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I need a 1000 servings of this! It disappears from my kitchen so quickly. I made it the first time exactly as the recipe calls for. I am not good at tweaking unless I have a baseline. My only complaint was the sodium content. Made my mouth draw up. A reviewer stated that crushed red pepper is great. I liked the spice but my daughter stated that it was too much. Begrudgingly I eliminated the crush red pepper. I put less chicken base and NO salt to curb the sodium. It was good but it lacked that spice I liked. I now make either 2 batches or One with a medium heat. LOVE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blkcat118

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Southaven, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by falonluvsjakey
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
This was so good. As always we are the husband wife duo!!! We added in double the amount of heavy whipping cream, 1 cream of potato soup, and 1 cup fresh mushrooms. Mustard or turnip greens could be substituted for kale, but would not recommend. Hubby loves this soup. He says "this is this best soup he has ever had bar none."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Morgan City, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I was pretty happy with how this turned out. I think the chicken base is really important so make sure you have good quality--I had some but not great quality, and it did feel like something was missing with the depth of flavor. I found the kale texture not that appealing, thought its flavor was so good... might try a different green like spinach next time and see how that works. Overall a good recipe to try on a rainy day! Must have some bread with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Love the recipe!!! Followed to a tee and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I have made this recipe several times and Love it. I do add half and half, carrot matchsticks and mushrooms for added nutrition. I also add fresh garlic. My husband doesn't like kale but loves it in this soup. I also add a lot more kale as I love it. Like others I also add red pepper flakes for a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
I can never have enough! this is so amazing i make it almost once a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 294) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States