Toscana Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
Wow! Amazing! Having worked at the OG I made a few minute changes. I added 1 tbs of crushed red pepper, salt & pepper to taste, a little cornstarch and water to thicken it up, mashed a few of the potatoes, and added freshly grated parmesan cheese. (Though I like my toscana a little thick, I don't recommend this if you like it thin.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
290 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amb1580
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
This soup is awesome but only 4 stars for me because it should be made with spicy ground sausage, it should have a lot more potatoes, and the broth is a little thin compared to OG's. I worked at OG for a long time and the kale is added when the pan is refilled and served immediately. The longer it sits, the more the kale softens up, but most days it doesn't get to sit for very long. Next time I will add more potatoes and try to figure out how to thicken it just a bit more, maybe whisk a little cornstarch into the broth before adding other ingredients. Oh yeah, I tripled this recipe and used 2 packages of ground sausage, 1 lb. each, and I used all chicken broth, taste was wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amb1580

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Horn Lake, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
I Really loved this recipe. I used to work at the OG for quite some time and this recipe is easy to follow and tastes even better than theirs! I just used crumbled sausage, added red pepper flakes and more potatoes and kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
Very good approximation of the Olive Garden recipe, with the exception that I used bulk italian sausage instead of pork sausage links. I also took the advice of the other reviewer, added red pepper flakes, salt and pepper, and a little corn starch for thickening. I also used 2 C chicken broth and 2 C water instead of the 2 T chicken broth and 4 C water. I also used 1/2 C cream instead of 1/3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
This recipe must have an error; 2 TB. chicken broth? I think it should say CHICKEN BASE! That's what I used. I used 1 pound ground hot sausage, drained. I have even doubled the recipe and 1 pound of sausage was fine too. I have started steaming the kale (I like extra) separately to get my perfect texture (pile ripped leaves in pot, add 1 inch water, and steam until tender but still somewhat firm). A bit less water suits me better too. This was very good, thanks =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful
Photo by Cher
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
I didn't have enough italian sausage on hand so I added chicken and it was amazingly good! My daughter said it was her favorite soup and evn my husband, who hates anything green, raved about how good it was. I garnished it with fresh parmesean and diced tomato and served with crusty bread. Will be making this soup again and again, thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by ANGCIS
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
is recipes was so good. i eat the one from og offten and the one i made at home was better. i could add more kale like i like. i used jimmy dean hot sausage and made little balls and boiled them then i sauted them with the onions and garlic umum good. sprinkle parmasen cheese and instead of salt i use garlic salt and fresh ground pepper to top. hope you will enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Irving, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
At the end, the soup is very hearty. I think I would have preferred less "stuff" in it to resemble the restaurant soup, but that's a matter of taste. I tried using the pork sausage and crumbled it instead of using sliced sausage. That made the soup too greasy. On a second round, I drained the grease first before adding it to the soup. Otherwise, very tasty. I love the potato/sausage/kale combination. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2001
My husband loves the restaurant version but he said that this was "better". He ate the entire pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I gave it a 4 star as written but with these adjustments it is definitely a 5 star. The one thing that is missing from this recipe is bacon. Instead of using vegetable oil to cook the onions in, use 2 strips of bacon cut up in small pieces. I used 2 large cloves of garlic and 3 potatoes. I removed the sausage from its casing, broke it up and browned in skillet. I then drained it and added 1/2 cup flour to the sausage and mixed it up until the flour is invisible. I used chicken broth instead of the base and water and I added 1 tablespoon crushed red pepper. Amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi79

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 294) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States